PDA

View Full Version : positive socio-religious engineering!

darkfox
January 27th, 2005, 12:04 AM
I'm relatively new to Ubuntu, so please pardon me if the views I express here are old and worn:

I came to Ubuntu for technical reasons, and have been very impressed on that level. It is my main desktop now. However, I've been more impressed with how Ubuntu and the community are really going for the big one - trying to bring folk together in a spirit of hope and co-operation. Startling if you think about it even in FOSS-world, yet so simply executed. I thank you all for the good vibe.

I am particularly interested in what's been happening on the religious front - the most sensitive of areas. I write this now becasue from a newbie's perspective, I think something good has come out of all the ridiculousness over the excellent Warty artwork. I'll explain via a slight digression:

In the Ottoman empire, religious diversity was celebrated. There was federal law, and another law per religion based upon its tenets. So in practice depending on your religion you were legally bound by a different set of rules to those of your neighbour. It is a contended view, but the main line is that this led to tolerance and freedom based on a celebration of differing beliefs.

Contrast this with modern-day in my country - UK. Social pressure to not highlight religious differences is now being backed up with legislation. Children must not wear religious clothing to schools. We are trying to make everyone seem the same, and hide those beliefs that are different from others. This is tangibly breeding fear and hatred. How bland, colourless and repressive.