PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Jaunty 9.04 - Help needed: Getting Outlook 2007 to work

vince.lupe
September 29th, 2009, 05:29 AM
Hey everyone!

I have installed and gotten to work Microsoft Office Ultimate 2007 with Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope; however, when I try to open Outllok 2007, it says something along the lines of "Cannot open Outlook window." Why is that? How can I fix that so that I can open and use it? Also, I am a newbie, so I do not know how to automate switches (I'd like to, if I need to, open Outlook 2007 via the use of the /resetnavpane switch if needed, every time I open Outlook 2007. I'd like it to be automated every time I click on the Outlook icon.). Can someone help me with getting Outlook to work? Thanks!

Vince Lupe

brian mcgee
September 29th, 2009, 05:34 AM
Not sure Outlook 2007 works well in Wine:

http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=7533

rreese6
September 29th, 2009, 07:02 AM
You would probably be better off looking here:

http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=4992&iTestingId=42611 (http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=version&iId=4992&iTestingId=42611)

or use the native Linux programs like Open Office and Kontact

e-Gee
September 29th, 2009, 07:19 AM
You just have to install Windows and all your problems will be solved. Why do you use Linux if you can't use basic Linux apps like Evolution or Thunderbird, Openoffice .....

rreese6
September 29th, 2009, 07:37 AM
You just have to install Windows and all your problems will be solved. Why do you use Linux if you can't use basic Linux apps like Evolution or Thunderbird, Openoffice .....

Hey eGee, let's be civil here....he is a newbie, he said (yeah I missed that the first read too) He probably doesn't know about all the great stuff for Linux yet. Once he starts using them he will naturally forget about that other OS...what was it's name again? :)