PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cairo-Dock

GCkid7
September 28th, 2009, 11:09 AM
Yesterday I removed cairo-dock (it's bugged) from my system and I ticked for complete removal.
After re-start all I got was a black screen with text and nothing worked. I don't know why I ticked for complete removal in "synaptick package manager", but I did not except for complete crash down. I did not know how to re-store it.

Is this normal in Ubuntu? should I avoid that particular command?
When should I use that command: "complete removal"?

I am still learning Ubuntu. Thanx to anyone who replies & answers my questions....

redwaldmcmanus
September 28th, 2009, 11:27 AM
no that's not normal, I use complete removal a lot and have never had that.

What package did you remove?
What packages did it say would be removed? <- if you didn't look at this, then it's possible that you've taken out a few vital ones

fabounet
September 28th, 2009, 11:29 AM
you probably removed libcairo ...
try reinstalling it
(and about you're Cairo-Dock problems, did you search on the wiki (http://www.cairo-dock.org/ww_page.php?p=Accueil&lang=en) ? Because it really works well.)

GCkid7
September 28th, 2009, 11:38 AM
no that's not normal, I use complete removal a lot and have never had that.

What package did you remove?
What packages did it say would be removed? <- if you didn't look at this, then it's possible that you've taken out a few vital ones

I think you are right, I did not know if you remove all of them it will affect the whole OS. Now I have to pay the prize & learn the bitter way.

GCkid7
September 28th, 2009, 11:42 AM
you probably removed libcairo ...
try reinstalling it
(and about you're Cairo-Dock problems, did you search on the wiki (http://www.cairo-dock.org/ww_page.php?p=Accueil&lang=en) ? Because it really works well.)

I can't do anything. When I boot the PC, all I got is black screen & text. But I re-install the whole OS.