PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to make Windows key open Terminal?

wotnartd
September 28th, 2009, 12:25 AM
Hey folks, I've been using Ubuntu for a few months and am trying to figure out how to get the Windows key to open terminal, like a shortcut key, I guess. Anybody have any ideas on how to make this work? I'm still pretty much an ubuntu newbie, and any guidance would be very helpful. Thanks.

wojox
September 28th, 2009, 12:33 AM
Sure that's what I use it for as well. Just open System > Preferences > Keyboard Shortcuts and scroll down to Run a terminal Double click it and press the windows key.

wotnartd
September 28th, 2009, 01:25 AM
Sure that's what I use it for as well. Just open System > Preferences > Keyboard Shortcuts and scroll down to Run a terminal Double click it and press the windows key.

Thank you so much, wojox. I guess I was looking so hard I didn't see what was right there in front of my face. I appreciate this very much.

Simeo
January 5th, 2011, 11:14 PM
I still can't assign windows key to open a terminal... my key does nothing.

TechWiz2100
January 6th, 2011, 03:58 AM
I still can't assign windows key to open a terminal... my key does nothing.

Windows key is a special mod or "Super" key ergo it cannot be used alone it must be assigned with another key such as Win+T or in linux speak <Super> + T

=P

likwidoxigen
February 6th, 2011, 02:42 AM
Don't mean to revive a dead thread but I hate not to see this "Solved:"

All you have to do is put in Super_L instead of <Super>T or whatever you had in there. After you remove the < and > it's no longer a modifier and just a regular old key, you just need to specify l or r for which "super" key you're interested in.

Enjoy!

Krytarik
February 6th, 2011, 06:54 PM
Don't mean to revive a dead thread but I hate not to see this "Solved:"