PDA

View Full Version : [gnome] Transparent Menu Bar



MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 01:04 PM
hi there, i would like to make my menu bar transparent.. tried looking around google and found nothing. Anyone know how to do it?

grturner
September 27th, 2009, 01:06 PM
in gnome, right click on the menu bar and select properties. Select the background tab at the top. Select the Solid Color and there you can mess around with the transparency.

MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 01:12 PM
i want to change the bar not the panel. in the screenshot is the thing i want transparent.
thanks anyway:)

grturner
September 27th, 2009, 01:18 PM
taken from
http://d0od.blogspot.com/2009/03/make-your-gnome-menus-transparent.html


Firstly, make sure you have the ‘Compiz Configuration Settings Manager’ installed (CCSM). You can easily find this in synaptic if you don’t.

1. Open CCSM
2. Go to Accessibility
3. Go to Tab - Opacity Settings

Enter the settings as follows: -

* dock 67
* Menu 90
* DropdownMenu 92
* popupmenu 93

Preview these settings and then tweak to your liking.


I'm sure you could tweak those settings even more. I've not personally tested this because I don't use compiz. It does seem the most concise thought.

MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 01:21 PM
* dock 67
* Menu 90
* DropdownMenu 92
* popupmenu 93

where do i type these in?

grturner
September 27th, 2009, 01:33 PM
http://wiki.compiz-fusion.org/CCSM#Changing_options

I'm sorry that I can't help you more. compiz slows down my machine, but have a look at that website. Hopefully it can help you out more.

MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 01:35 PM
now i have it half transparent by enabling transparent menu in ubuntu tweak. but i want it completely transparent. Anyone?
thanks to grturner (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=770399). appreciated your help:)

fela
September 27th, 2009, 01:37 PM
now i have it half transparent by enabling transparent menu in ubuntu tweak. but i want it completely transparent. Anyone?
thanks to grturner (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=770399). appreciated your help:)

I think the compiz plugin is 'brightness and opacity', or something like that. Go in there and modify your settings for each window - there's lots of guides on google aswell.

MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 01:40 PM
there is brightness and saturation, as i said, google isn't really helping me out now:(

MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 01:42 PM
my way of editing in ubuntu tweak has made all the menu bars transparent. is there a way to only make the panel menu bar transparent?

fela
September 27th, 2009, 01:45 PM
my way of editing in ubuntu tweak has made all the menu bars transparent. is there a way to only make the panel menu bar transparent?

Probably yes, I'm afraid you'll have to search for it as I don't know exactly how it's done. Googling is an art and you have to practise to get it right. You can't just search in google 'how do I do this' and expect the right answer to come - it requires a bit of effort.

What about this (http://lifehacker.com/322513/make-menus-transparent-in-compiz-fusion)? Also check out this (http://wiki.compiz-fusion.org/WindowMatching).

kaivalagi
September 27th, 2009, 01:50 PM
What about this (http://lifehacker.com/322513/make-menus-transparent-in-compiz-fusion)?.

A web page linked off of your posted link should suffice: http://arstechnica.com/open-source/news/2007/11/configuring-conditional-window-transparency-in-compiz.ars

The OP will need to find out the name for the panel based menu, if it differs from all others? A bit of trial and error might get him there...

edit: Looks like you've found a better site link since I posted my reply :)

MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 01:51 PM
reading this :http://lifehacker.com/322513/make-menus-transparent-in-compiz-fusion has made me really confused. the link says got to opacify but i only have opacity. and some of the options seem to be from an older version of ccsm:confused:

fela
September 27th, 2009, 01:56 PM
reading this :http://lifehacker.com/322513/make-menus-transparent-in-compiz-fusion has made me really confused. the link says got to opacify but i only have opacity. and some of the options seem to be from an older version of ccsm:confused:

Look for the plugin that is most similar to 'opacity settings'.

MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 02:02 PM
i tried changing pidgin to gnome-panel and then menu_bar but both did not work. pretty stumped here:(
i mean i changed the pidgin here:
class=Pidgin & !title=Buddy List

fela
September 27th, 2009, 02:23 PM
i tried changing pidgin to gnome-panel and then menu_bar but both did not work. pretty stumped here:(
i mean i changed the pidgin here:
class=Pidgin & !title=Buddy List

Just replace all of that with class=panel, or whatever. You don't need any pidgin stuff.

MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 02:27 PM
thats what i did. i just took the pidgin as an example. i tried class=panel, class=gnome-panel, class=gnome-panel, all to no avail..:(

kaivalagi
September 27th, 2009, 02:45 PM
thats what i did. i just took the pidgin as an example. i tried class=panel, class=gnome-panel, class=gnome-panel, all to no avail..:(

I think it is case sensitive, try Gnome-panel

MelDJ
September 27th, 2009, 02:47 PM
I think it is case sensitive, try Gnome-panel

still nothing..

kaivalagi
September 27th, 2009, 04:38 PM
still nothing..

Sounds like what you want isn't possible right now...anyone else got any ideas?

kelvin spratt
September 27th, 2009, 05:34 PM
As already mentioned its all done in Compiz setting manager in opacity in older versions,
opacity Brightness and Saturation in later versions. Under window specific settings, click on edit and enter your settings.
This is mine,
name=gnome-panel | type=Menu | tooltip | PopupMenu | DropdownMenu or you can enter them separately on different lines.

MelDJ
September 28th, 2009, 08:10 AM
have i typed it right? please see the screenshot

MelDJ
September 28th, 2009, 03:03 PM
bump

kaivalagi
September 28th, 2009, 07:19 PM
have i typed it right? please see the screenshot

If it worked then yes, if it didn't then no...

You may be best asking if what you want is even possible (only affecting panel based menus and not others) on the IRC based #compiz channel, which resides at irc.freenode.net...I assume you know about IRC? If not read here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irc

You can use Pidgin to access IRC in Ubuntu by adding an IRC protocol based account for irc.freenode.net. See attached screenshot for a brief howto...just pick a username to be known as...

MelDJ
September 29th, 2009, 09:18 AM
okay. will try it. Thank you everyone for trying to help me out:)

fela
September 30th, 2009, 01:28 PM
Just a thought, but try:


class=gnome-panel & (type=Menu | Tooltip | PopupMenu | DropDownMenu)

You could also use the 'grab window' feature to grab the gnome panel's class (select class, grab, click on the panel), and then add another parameter to the same rule, with the menus options, and make sure to give the whole of it an 'and' relationship to the 'gnome panel' parameter. Hope you get what I mean!

My only worry is that if you were to make the menus transparent with compiz, I think it also makes the text transparent - so you can't actually have full transparency and still see the text.

Kognit
April 2nd, 2010, 05:46 PM
Just enter the "!" without the quotes and this will apply to all aplications