PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Multi-Boot Partition Problems

StKunze
September 26th, 2009, 08:51 PM
I've been using Ubuntu on my laptop for about a year or so now. Not a complete newbie but not a technical wizard either! More than capable of googling answers and I've done that in a search for answers here, tried a variety of things but got nowhere.

My disk was triple booted, partitions were as follows:
1. Primary Partition - NTFS/Windows
2. Primary Partition - ZFS/Solaris (Gparted reported this partition as 'unknown' format)
3. Primary Partition - Linux-Swap
4. Extended Partition containing
4a. Secondary Partition - /(Root)
4b. Secondary Partition - /Home
4c. Secondary Partition - FAT32-shared

As I was running out of space I decided to remove Solaris, so booting from a USB stick containing Ubuntu Jaunty, I used Gparted to delete the Solaris partition, move and resize the other partitions so that it looked like this (all apparently successful operations):

1. Primary Partition - NTFS/Windows
2. Primary Partition - Linux-Swap
3. Primary Partition - Linux /Home
4. Extended Partition containing
4a. Secondary Partition - Linux /(Root)
4b. Secondary Partition - FAT32-shared

The Root, Home and shared partitions automount fine, and windows still boots when selected from grub (I manually removed the solaris entry from grub). But the linux-swap does not appear to be on (used as swap), and I can't mount my windows disk at all.

sudo fdisk -l gives me this:

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 3823 30708216 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 3824 4217 3164805 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda3 4218 5493 10249470 83 Linux
/dev/sda4 5494 12137 53367930 5 Extended
/dev/sda5 5494 7925 19535008+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 7926 12137 33832858+ b W95 FAT32

So, something appears to have gone wrong with no apparent error messages.

Can somebody help me with these questions please?