PDA

View Full Version : Most Powerful Scientific Calculator

Lysander10
September 26th, 2009, 05:47 PM
Greetings,

I'm a computer science student. As the title of this thread suggests, I'm looking for the most powerful(in terms of the criteria listed below) scientific calculator. Graphing calculators are not allowed on many of my tests, so that's out(and I already have an HP 50g). Also, please don't respond with something like "pencil and paper" - that isn't an acceptable solution for advanced mathematics-based courses where tests are timed and graded on a curve. When you have to be competitive, this kind of thing really matters.

Here are the criteria I'm looking for(in no particular order):

- multi-variable equation solver
- derivatives and integrals
- a lot of memory for storing values and expressions
- boolean algebra and base-n number systems
- RPN input(or failing that, something like Equation Editor)
- large constants, conversions, and equations library
- numeric table generation and simulation
- high precision and large operations stack
- handles matrices well
- advanced statistics functions are a plus, but not as important

Here are the kinds of courses I have left to take:

- Physics 1 and 2
- Calculus 2 and 3
- Matrix Algebra
- a lot of computer science and engineering courses
- possible more math courses - I may minor in math

The best calculator I've found so far is the Sharp EL-W516, followed closely by the Casio fx-115ES. The ideal calculator would be the Sharp, with the table generation of the Casio, and RPN input.

Programmable calculators are kind of a grey area(unfortunately). I have no desire to cheat, and I'm not sure if many professors would allow these who don't allow graphing calculators.

Things I'm not concerned about:

- easy to learn(not the same thing as efficiency!)
- whether my instructor knows how to use it

Thanks in advance for any help.

razorboy5
September 26th, 2009, 06:01 PM