PDA

View Full Version : Had cause to reboot to Windows...

Inferiority Complex
September 25th, 2009, 09:32 AM
I've been dual-booting for years but a few months ago, started using Linux as my main O/S with a small Windows partition for a few games.

This morning, I had reason to boot to Windows & I was stunned by what I experienced.

Now that I am fully used to how Linux works and what I've come to expect from it, running Windows again for just 20 minutes was painful.

Explorer crashed three times;
iTunes wouldn't Rip any CD's (still trying to find a good Linux-equivalent for that);
Internet Explorer wouldn't run properly;
whilst shutting down, the whole system hanged causing me to press the reset button.

I never thought I'd view my computer with so much disdain...

Exodist
September 25th, 2009, 09:50 AM
Try GRIP for ripping CDs. I havent found another program that does it this good on any platform. The program does one thing and does it correctly.

http://nostatic.org/grip/

koshatnik
September 25th, 2009, 10:01 AM
I still use audiograbber in linux, runs great under wine.

ade234uk
September 25th, 2009, 11:50 AM
I've been dual-booting for years but a few months ago, started using Linux as my main O/S with a small Windows partition for a few games.

This morning, I had reason to boot to Windows & I was stunned by what I experienced.

Now that I am fully used to how Linux works and what I've come to expect from it, running Windows again for just 20 minutes was painful.

iTunes wouldn't Rip any CD's (still trying to find a good Linux-equivalent for that);
whilst shutting down, the whole system hanged causing me to press the reset button.