PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Add KDE To 8.04 LTS Text-Only?

smpoole7
September 19th, 2009, 06:10 PM
This may sound like a strange question, but I'm new to Ubuntu. (Totally new.) I installed the 8.04 LTS Server for use as a server, then realized that setting it up would be a lot easier with graphical config tools. I decided to add KDE (since I prefer it to Gnome) with

sudo apt-get install kde

... and it churned and chugged for quite some time, then declared it installed and happy. OK ... (gulp, blush) ... so how do I start it? :)

startx doesn't work. Obviously, it needs to be configured first, but how do I do that? I've done a dozen Google searches, and I've searched here in the forum, but every single result always *assumes* that you've already got the Gnome desktop running and just want to *add* KDE to that. All of the suggestions say something like, "Click on System, then click This, then click That ..."

Ummm. I have nowhere to click. There's very little info (that I could find, anyway), about converting a text-only LTS installation to graphical.

I'm perfectly comfortable at a text prompt. If you can suggest the magical, mystical series of commands to be entered to make this happen, I'll be a happy man. :)

Thanks in advance!

Edited: In case it's not clear, I installed the server as text-only -- in fact, I downloaded the single-CD installer and used that. My server is currently the equivalent of what we'd call "text only/initdefault 3" over in the Suse/Red Hat/CentOS/etc. land in which I've lived for years ...

SuperSonic4
September 19th, 2009, 06:12 PM
What does the following do?

sudo /etc/init.d/kdm start

A reboot usually works wonders but I don't know if it's an option for you

If these don't work (or are not applicable) canyou post the output of
cat ~/.xinitrc

smpoole7
September 19th, 2009, 06:41 PM
What does the following do?

sudo /etc/init.d/kdm startA reboot usually works wonders but I don't know if it's an option for you