PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Drawing Lines onto a Java Container

JCoster
September 19th, 2009, 01:39 PM
I'm new to Java programming and I'm attempting to finish off my first GUI by drawing lines between two coordinates.

I'm not too sure where to start... I've seen the public void paint(Graph g) method signature several times about but I don't understand how I could call that and add the output to an existing container.

Here is what I'm trying to do:

Container contentPane;

Graphics g = frame.getGraphics();
g.drawLine(12, 12, 400, 400);
g.setColor(Color.BLACK);
contentPane.paintComponents(g);

This is inside of a method which adds Labels and other awt objects to the container.

What happens it that when I run it, the container pops up and the line drawn flashes on for literally a split second and then disappears, but all other components stay in-tact and visible.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance.

Reiger
September 19th, 2009, 02:13 PM
You could do so by having an anonymous inner class overriding the paint() method of your frame; like this:

JFrame frame = new JFrame(/*constructor args here*/) {
@Override
public void paint(Graphics g) {
super.paint(g); // paint a JFrame
/* draw more stuff here */
}
};

Alternatively you could define a class (public or private) which extends JFrame() and only redefines the paint method; the code is pretty much the same:

class MyFrame extends JFrame {
@Override
super.paint(g); // paint a JFrame
/* draw more stuff here */
}
}

And then instantiate the frame with frame = new MyFrame(/* constructor args here */). You just have to make sure your define all necessary constructors you want to use for instantiating the frame, because my code for instance will only work as new MyFrame() and not new MyFrame("title here"): for that you would have to define a constructor to invoke the corresponding super constructor.

JCoster
September 19th, 2009, 02:17 PM
Thank you for your quick response.