PDA

View Full Version : Philosophical question about Ubuntu

mjp29
September 19th, 2009, 05:58 AM
Personally, I have a lot of experience using computers as a hobby (goes back to the one Apple II in our elementary school, having a Timex Sinclair as first computer at home which was quickly replaced with a Commodore Vic-20). I could write many pages about my childhood computer hobby and reading computer magazines and such but I won't bore you.

But somewhere along the line I chose not to be indoctrinated and use a Microsoft Windows system. I have used a Mac (a rebel) since early releases of the Apple and even now I use an old G4 cube running an older version of os X.

My older Uncle, on the other hand, I have been unable to convince not to use a Windows operating system. My many conversations with him and emails to him telling him how the Mac o.s. is something he must try ... never stuck with him. He just kept buying and still keeps buying laptop Windows laptop systems even in his retirement.

The Irony of all this is that a few years back my Uncle (who actually reads a lot about computers on the net like I do) started talking about something called Ubuntu and asked me if I would help him install it on his old desktop to try it out. I looked it up on the net and it was Unix based too like my Mac and decided sure let's try it (anything to get him to try something besides Microsoft Windows).

The Irony is that I helped him install it and we both used it and we both loved it better than what we were using - the Irony is obvious.

And now I've just installed Ubuntu on a Pentium 4 box (that was given to me)tonight and showed it to an old female friend that has never seen it and really likes it a lot (she has used Windows at work for years but really really likes Ubuntu).