PDA

View Full Version : Building gnome from source.



dragos240
September 19th, 2009, 02:45 AM
I want to see how long it takes, and attempt to use it :p

But where do I get the sources, and what steps should I take?

Tibuda
September 19th, 2009, 02:46 AM
http://git.gnome.org

Good look.

Bachstelze
September 19th, 2009, 02:53 AM
Get gnome-desktop here:

ftp://ftp.gnome.org/mirror/gnome.org/sources/gnome-desktop/2.26/

And follow the README. When you have missing dependencies, build that and try again. See you in a week. :p

C!oud
September 19th, 2009, 02:54 AM
why?

dragos240
September 19th, 2009, 02:56 AM
why?

Why not? ;) Sure, I have a stable version, but I'm going to attempt to run this build version to see if it at all works.

Bachstelze
September 19th, 2009, 02:56 AM
why?


I want to see how long it takes, and attempt to use it :p

:<

dragos240
September 19th, 2009, 02:57 AM
See you in a week. :p

If I'm successful.
If not, see you in a few months.

phrostbyte
September 19th, 2009, 03:00 AM
WARNING: I do not recommend you try this on a production system. Proceed at your own risk.


Build Gnome from source (haven't tested recently):

sudo apt-get install gnome-common build-essential doxygen subversion automake1.4 automake1.7 cvs git-core docbook docbook-utils docbook-xsl flex bison texinfo python2.5-dev lynx mono-gmcs libtiff4-dev libxtst-dev libgdbm-dev libxml-simple-perl libelfg0-dev libcupsys2-dev libldap2-dev libexchange-storage1.2-dev libxmu-dev libpam0g-dev libgpgme11-dev libfreetype6-dev libpng12-dev libxrender-dev libxi-dev libexpat1-dev libbz2-dev firefox-dev libxcursor-dev guile-1.8-dev libxdamage-dev libxcomposite-dev libmono-cairo2.0-cil xnest libxft-dev libloudmouth1-0 libloudmouth1-dev libxss-dev libxkbfile-dev gtk-doc-tools libjasper-dev libnl-dev ppp-dev libdv4-dev uuid-dev libpcre3-dev libsqlite3-dev libpurple-dev libcurl4-gnutls-dev libxul-dev libffi-dev liboil0.3-dev
git clone git://git.gnome.org/jhbuild
cd jhbuild
./autogen.sh
make
sudo make install
sudo jhbuild sanitycheck
sudo jhbuild bootstrap
sudo jhbuild build


WARNING: I do not recommend you try this on a production system. Proceed at your own risk.

chris200x9
September 19th, 2009, 03:01 AM
If I'm successful.
If not, see you in a few months.

what are your specs? When I was running gentoo on a q6600 with 4 gb ram it compiled in like 2 hours :P ( MAKEOPTS="-j5")

dragos240
September 19th, 2009, 03:02 AM
what are your specs? When I was running gentoo on a q6600 with 4 gb ram it compiled in like 2 hours :P ( MAKEOPTS="-j5")

00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:08.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0d.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
01:06.0 Communication controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. Device 2f40
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8039 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 14)

dragos240
September 19th, 2009, 03:03 AM
WARNING: I do not recommend you try this on a production system. Proceed at your own risk.


Build Gnome from source (haven't tested recently):

sudo apt-get install gnome-common build-essential doxygen subversion automake1.4 automake1.7 cvs git-core docbook docbook-utils docbook-xsl flex bison texinfo python2.5-dev lynx mono-gmcs libtiff4-dev libxtst-dev libgdbm-dev libxml-simple-perl libelfg0-dev libcupsys2-dev libldap2-dev libexchange-storage1.2-dev libxmu-dev libpam0g-dev libgpgme11-dev libfreetype6-dev libpng12-dev libxrender-dev libxi-dev libexpat1-dev libbz2-dev firefox-dev libxcursor-dev guile-1.8-dev libxdamage-dev libxcomposite-dev libmono-cairo2.0-cil xnest libxft-dev libloudmouth1-0 libloudmouth1-dev libxss-dev libxkbfile-dev gtk-doc-tools libjasper-dev libnl-dev ppp-dev libdv4-dev uuid-dev libpcre3-dev libsqlite3-dev libpurple-dev libcurl4-gnutls-dev libxul-dev libffi-dev liboil0.3-dev
git clone git://git.gnome.org/jhbuild
cd jhbuild
./autogen.sh
make
make install
jhbuild sanitycheck
jhbuild bootstrap
jhbuild build
WARNING: I do not recommend you try this on a production system. Proceed at your own risk.


You are assuming I am using debian.

phrostbyte
September 19th, 2009, 03:05 AM
You are assuming I am using debian.

The only thing that would be different is the dependencies (the first line). You'll need them to build Gnome.

chris200x9
September 19th, 2009, 03:06 AM
00:00.0 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a1)
00:01.0 ISA bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 LPC Bridge (rev a2)
00:01.1 SMBus: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SMBus (rev a2)
00:01.2 RAM memory: nVidia Corporation MCP61 Memory Controller (rev a2)
00:02.0 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:02.1 USB Controller: nVidia Corporation MCP61 USB Controller (rev a3)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI bridge (rev a1)
00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)
00:06.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 IDE (rev a2)
00:08.0 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:08.1 IDE interface: nVidia Corporation MCP61 SATA Controller (rev a2)
00:09.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0b.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0c.0 PCI bridge: nVidia Corporation MCP61 PCI Express bridge (rev a2)
00:0d.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C61 [GeForce 6150SE nForce 430] (rev a2)
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
01:05.0 Network controller: RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI
01:06.0 Communication controller: Conexant Systems, Inc. Device 2f40
03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88E8039 PCI-E Fast Ethernet Controller (rev 14)

...
just your cpu, speed and memory

dragos240
September 19th, 2009, 03:11 AM
...
just your cpu, speed and memory

Sorry, me being lazy. 2gb ram, 64 bit processor. Archlinux.

chris200x9
September 19th, 2009, 03:15 AM
Sorry, me being lazy. 2gb ram, 64 bit processor. Archlinux.

shouldn't be too bad 64-bit means at least dual core just when you build it make sure you do a MAKEOPTS="-j3" or 2 :popcorn: good luck

CJ Master
September 19th, 2009, 03:20 AM
shouldn't be too bad 64-bit means at least dual core

False.

chris200x9
September 19th, 2009, 03:46 AM
False.

yes ok it means you most likely, besides MAKEOPTS="-j2" or 3 would help anyway because it has hyperthreading if single core (unless amd made some single core 64-bit cpu I'm not aware of which may be I'm not a big amd guy)

C!oud
September 19th, 2009, 04:14 AM
:<

The question is nevertheless still valid.

~sHyLoCk~
September 19th, 2009, 04:19 AM
Gnome-meta, i.e. the basic gnome desktop [without even gedit, alacarte,etc.] took me 3hours in my core2duo with -O2 march=prescott mtune=generic -pipe -fomit-frame-pointer , makeopts=-j3 and then after building a few more essential stuffs it took another 2-3hours.

cousinit2
September 29th, 2009, 07:33 PM
Yep. I'm trying to build the latest GNOME desktop, too. Version 2.28 promises alot of snazzy new things that Karmic won't have if they go with 2.27 :(.

But I'm getting stuck with some dependency issues. Namely libglib2.0-dev. I n00bishly removed this via Synaptic to make way for a newer version as required by gtk+, libunique, and many others, and guess what--they all still scream at me that they can only find GLib version 2.20.1--which is the one I removed, or so I thought.

Any ideas on how to ACTUALLY remove this package and/or replace it with the new one I've built from the GNOME repository?

Exodist
September 29th, 2009, 07:41 PM
http://git.gnome.org

Good look.

+5


Welcome to dependency HELL!

CJ Master
September 29th, 2009, 07:54 PM
welcome to dependency hell!

+666

itreius
September 29th, 2009, 08:47 PM
Why not just use Gnome from the gnome-unstable repo?

Edit: Apologies, didn't see the date on that post :/

FuturePilot
September 29th, 2009, 08:58 PM
Yep. I'm trying to build the latest GNOME desktop, too. Version 2.28 promises alot of snazzy new things that Karmic won't have if they go with 2.27 :(.

But I'm getting stuck with some dependency issues. Namely libglib2.0-dev. I n00bishly removed this via Synaptic to make way for a newer version as required by gtk+, libunique, and many others, and guess what--they all still scream at me that they can only find GLib version 2.20.1--which is the one I removed, or so I thought.

Any ideas on how to ACTUALLY remove this package and/or replace it with the new one I've built from the GNOME repository?

Karmic has 2.28.

cousinit2
September 29th, 2009, 09:01 PM
OK. Now I believe everyone. GNOME dependencies are exactly like Windows .DLLs in terms of hellishness.

Gtk+ 2.22 builds and installs fine after adding gnome-devel & all its dependencies. However, libunique still cannot see fit to build itself. The error NOW returns as follows:


File "/opt/gnome2/lib64/gobject-introspection/giscanner/transformer.py", line 129, in _find_include
% (girname, searchdirs))
ValueError: Couldn't find include 'Gtk-2.0.gir' (search path: ['/opt/gnome2/share/gir-1.0', '/opt/gnome2/share/gir-1.0', '/usr/share/gir-1.0', '/opt/gnome2/share/gir-1.0'])
make[4]: *** [Unique-1.0.gir] Error 1
make[3]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[2]: *** [all] Error 2
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make: *** [all] Error 2


You just try to find the file 'Gtk-2.0.gir' anywhere in the known universe. gir-repository claims to have it, and also claims to be part of gobject-introspection, but guess what-- they both fail on make with this error:

File "/usr/lib/python2.6/subprocess.py", line 462, in check_call
raise CalledProcessError(retcode, cmd)
subprocess.CalledProcessError: Command '['/bin/bash', '../libtool', '--mode=link', '--tag=CC', '--silent', 'gcc', '-o', '/home/rtfm/gir-repository-0.6.5/gir/tmp-introspectMGoK4k/DBus-1.0', '-L.', 'libgirepo-DBus-custom.la', '-ldbus-glib-1', '-pthread', '-Wl,--export-dynamic', '-L/usr/local/lib', '-lgio-2.0', '-lgirepository-1.0', '-lgobject-2.0', '-lgmodule-2.0', '-lgthread-2.0', '-lrt', '-lglib-2.0', '/home/rtfm/gir-repository-0.6.5/gir/tmp-introspectMGoK4k/DBus-1.0.o']' returned non-zero exit status 1
make[2]: *** [DBus-1.0.gir] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/rtfm/gir-repository-0.6.5/gir'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/rtfm/gir-repository-0.6.5'
make: *** [all] Error 2


I'm checking python2.6/subprocess.py now, but I have no idea what to do about this error right now. I'll be very, VERY happy to try most things short of "sudo rm -R /".

Edit: Where was I looking that I saw Karmic had 2.27? Oh, yes I found it here:
http://www.ubuntu.com/testing/karmic/alpha6
"Ubuntu Karmic Alpha 6 includes the latest GNOME 2.27.91 development release." I couldn't find a more recent alpha released since September 17, though, so I may be mistaken about that.

jaxxstorm
September 29th, 2009, 09:11 PM
Is there any PPA's for GNOME (I'm going to guess there aren't, but just in case someone knows of one)

directhex
September 30th, 2009, 02:02 AM
Is there any PPA's for GNOME (I'm going to guess there aren't, but just in case someone knows of one)

http://jhdebuild.0d.be/packages.html should give you an idea of how many packages would need to be maintained in a PPA to do that

Frankly, nobody bothers, since GNOME releases every 6 months - so when there's a new GNOME release, there's also a new Ubuntu release, and easier to just use that

kevCast
September 30th, 2009, 02:32 AM
Be careful, lest yee lose thy sanity.

PurposeOfReason
September 30th, 2009, 02:35 AM
+5


Welcome to dependency HELL!


+666
Dependency hell is for the weak and unprepared.

jrusso2
September 30th, 2009, 02:37 AM
Imagine how glad I was when the distros started to come with KDE instead of having to compile it each time.

Now people want to go back to it.

unknownPoster
September 30th, 2009, 02:55 AM
If one were to judge Gnome and KDE simply by ease and time of compilation, KDE would win every time.

chucky chuckaluck
September 30th, 2009, 03:05 AM
isn't this kind of like making a twinkie from scratch?

cousinit2
September 30th, 2009, 08:30 PM
So, I've heard "KDE is easier and/or better", "just wait for Ubuntu", and "you should have been prepared/this is a pointless exercise."

I am of the mind that this is a worthwhile task, if only for the experience of compiling a large & complex UI. Waiting for the Ubuntu staff to do it all is just putting the burden entirely on them. KDE may be good at some things, but GNOME, in my short experience, is both better and more commonly used. The nice thing about Ubuntu is that you have that choice. I choose GNOME. I'm paying the price, I know. This is why I would like some help from the Ubuntu forums and fellow users who can contribute by sharing what they know about building GNOME.

That being said, I'm still working on getting libunique to build properly. There are some people on the Chinese Ubuntu forums that have hit on the same problem and are trying to fix it by compiling the gobject-introspection package. This package, in turn, wants the gjs package, that wants the latest version of SpiderMonkey from mozilla. Why it needs this, I have no idea.

So now it seems that, to get libunique working, I need to compile and install:
1. gobject-introspection
2. gjs
3. libmozjs-dev and libidl-dev, both a part of xulrunner.

Clear as mud. Now I find that xulrunner requires the Java SDK and java binaries to make properly, so I'm working on getting that. This is the next domino, I guess.

Mr. Picklesworth
September 30th, 2009, 08:47 PM
Doesn't jhbuild handle all this for you?

Bachstelze
September 30th, 2009, 08:48 PM
Doesn't jhbuild handle all this for you?

Yes but the dude is an Arch user. You don't want to mess with him, he knows.

dragos240
September 30th, 2009, 09:01 PM
Yes but the dude is an Arch user. You don't want to mess with him, he knows.

I got a strange error. It couldn't find the .jhbuilgrc or something.

PurposeOfReason
September 30th, 2009, 09:11 PM
Yes but the dude is an Arch user. You don't want to mess with him, he knows.
Thanks for getting soda all over my keyboard.

dragos240
September 30th, 2009, 09:32 PM
Thanks for getting soda all over my keyboard.

What type of keyboard?

PurposeOfReason
September 30th, 2009, 09:36 PM
What type of keyboard?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16823102003

I love it to death, somewhat hard to keep clean but it's got good enough tactile response for me.

dragos240
September 30th, 2009, 09:38 PM
Nice keyboard.

xorg112
September 30th, 2009, 10:23 PM
Use Abs. (http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ABS) Normally the best way to compile things from source in Arch.
To do that automatically you could use the Pacbuilder (http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=17216)

dragos240
September 30th, 2009, 10:28 PM
Use Abs. (http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/ABS) Normally the best way to compile things from source in Arch.
To do that automatically you could use the Pacbuilder (http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=17216)

Thanks :)

cousinit2
October 1st, 2009, 04:38 AM
OK so I got the libunique package to build successfully. I couldn't find a solution anywhere else, so I'll just post what worked for me.
libunique needed a file named 'gtk-2.0.gir' that it couldn't find. The gir-repository and gobject-introspection packages had this file, but they won't build without gjs. The gjs package, in turn, wants the file 'libmozjs.so' that is in the xulrunner package, and xulrunner requires a current install of the Java SDK (JDK).

Lucky for me the Ubuntu repositories happen to have the current release of JDK available:

sudo apt-get install sun-java6-jdk

Now here's where it got "fun and interesting". Even after installing JDK, the xulrunner "./configure" couldn't find it. So I edited the configure file like so:


JAVA_HOME=
# Check for the Java home directory, if not explicitly set it here
if test "${JAVA_HOME}" = ""; then
JAVA_HOME="/usr/lib/jvm/java-6-sun-1.6.0.16/"
fi

I added this code just above the section JAVA_INCLUDE_PATH in the configure file, and xulrunner builds and installs just fine, IF you use this code I found here (http://avidemux.org/admWiki/index.php?title=Compile_SpiderMonkey):

./configure \
--enable-application=standalone \
--disable-mailnews \
--disable-ldap \
--disable-gnomevfs \
--disable-gnomeui \
--disable-jsd \
--disable-plugins \
--disable-oji \
--disable-view-source \
--disable-accessibility \
--disable-jsloader \
--disable-composer \
--disable-postscript \
--disable-xtf \
--disable-xpfe-components \
--disable-xpinstall \
--disable-xprint \
--disable-xpcom-obsolete \
--disable-mathml \
--disable-installer \
--disable-updater \
--disable-activex \
--disable-activex-scripting \
--disable-xul \
--disable-profilesharing \
--disable-profilelocking \
--disable-necko-disk-cache \
--disable-cookies \
--disable-v1-string-abi \
make
A quick copy of 'libmozjs.so' to the /usr/lib/ folder and we're back to building gjs:

sudo cp /usr/lib/xulrunner-1.9.1.3/libmozjs.so /usr/lib/

However, gjs still could not build. I looked in Ubuntu's repositories again and again got lucky. Searching 'xulrunner-js' turned up these packages likely to help:

sudo apt-get install xulrunner-1.9 xulrunner-1.9-dev xulrunner-dev mozilla-js-debugger
xulrunner-1.9.1 xulrunner-1.9.1-gnome-support xulrunner-1.9-gnome-support

After installing these packages, gjs builds successfully, as does gobject-introspection. gir-repository still failed, but since I had the files from gobject-introspection I didn't have to bother building it anymore.

At this point, re-attempting to build libunique failed with the same error as before--'gtk-2.0.gir' not found. A search for this file showed that it was in /usr/share/gir. libunique's Makefile was looking in /usr/local/share/gir-1.0. All I had to do was edit the Makefile and change

INTROSPECTION_GIRDIR = /usr/local/share/gir-1.0
to:

INTROSPECTION_GIRDIR = /usr/local/share/gir
and libunique builds with warnings, but otherwise installs just fine!

Guess I should be more careful of what experiences I wish for. Gee, it only took two days, four different repositories, 12 other packages, and two hacks to get this thing working, what's next? :)

Tipped OuT
October 1st, 2009, 04:40 AM
What's the point of building GNOME from source? Is it just something else to learn and know?

cousinit2
October 1st, 2009, 04:00 PM
"Why climb a mountain?"
"Because it's there"
--George Mallory

Those who question why are often found far behind those who question how.

dragos240
October 1st, 2009, 04:08 PM
When I'm bored, I compile things.

RiceMonster
October 1st, 2009, 04:11 PM
When I'm bored, I compile things.

I think you need a hobby, or you should go out more.

dragos240
October 1st, 2009, 04:13 PM
True. I do :p

unknownPoster
October 1st, 2009, 04:24 PM
Yes but the dude is an Arch user. You don't want to mess with him, he knows.

It's an unfortunate attitude that many new Ubuntu to Arch/Gentoo/Slackware converts decide to take. It's quite depressing when you think about it.

cousinit2
October 1st, 2009, 05:48 PM
But compiling things is fun! :lolflag:
Admit it: there's nothing quite like the feeling that you're creating something from scratch. It's the same feeling you get from rebuilding a car engine--when everything is put together and that baby fires up, you're pumped!
C'mon, who here hasn't worked on some project and thrilled at it's successful completion? Show me this man, and I'll show you a man who has never lived.

dragos240
October 1st, 2009, 06:58 PM
But compiling things is fun! :lolflag:
Admit it: there's nothing quite like the feeling that you're creating something from scratch. It's the same feeling you get from rebuilding a car engine--when everything is put together and that baby fires up, you're pumped!
C'mon, who here hasn't worked on some project and thrilled at it's successful completion? Show me this man, and I'll show you a man who has never lived.

+1

Like, I just spent a few hours compiling firefox.

Exodist
October 1st, 2009, 07:01 PM
yes ok it means you most likely, besides MAKEOPTS="-j2" or 3 would help anyway because it has hyperthreading if single core (unless amd made some single core 64-bit cpu I'm not aware of which may be I'm not a big amd guy)

AMD has made tons of Single Core 64bit chips. I have had 3 or 4 of them.

PurposeOfReason
October 1st, 2009, 07:11 PM
+1

Like, I just spent a few hours compiling firefox.
Hours? You did something wrong. Firefox should take no time to compile, xulrunner shouldn't even take more than an hour with your system.

dragos240
October 1st, 2009, 07:14 PM
I need to resize my swap, I have 580 mb of swap. 1 GB of ram. This is on my netbook.

PurposeOfReason
October 1st, 2009, 07:17 PM
I need to resize my swap, I have 580 mb of swap. 1 GB of ram. This is on my netbook.
14 and you have a main computer, a server, and a netbook? Damn, I didn't even have my own computer when I was that age.

dragos240
October 1st, 2009, 07:26 PM
My netbook IS my server. Well. Was.

RiceMonster
October 1st, 2009, 07:28 PM
14 and you have a main computer, a server, and a netbook? Damn, I didn't even have my own computer when I was that age.

Yeah, I didn't have my own computer until I was 18. I shared a computer with the family up until then.

cousinit2
October 6th, 2009, 06:14 AM
My netbook IS my server. Well. Was.

+5 Linux usage

Sometimes it's good to have a compact little server handy. I have a couple of larger ones just laying around going to waste because they use too much power to be cost-effective anymore. Well, that and I have no need for a server at the moment... :lol:

bergqvistjl
October 21st, 2009, 10:54 AM
once its actually been downloaded and compiled etc to the opt/gnome2 directory. How do you actually run it?