PDA

View Full Version : Open Source Seach Engine?

jonny.milano
September 17th, 2009, 06:49 PM
Hi there,

I am relatively new to ubuntu and open source software, I have been using Ubuntu for over a year now and I must say I am so happy with it. There is one question that I would like to pose to the open source community:

Does a non-paid, open source, well used search engine exist out there? The other day, I realized that through Google AdWords one could buy clicks (rankings) to their website. Is there an alternative out there the is truly a search engine that doesn't allow the purchase of clicks? One that effectively lists popular results without corporate involvement?

Thanks for your time,
JonnyMilano

Barrucadu
September 17th, 2009, 06:55 PM
Doesn't Google AdWords only affect Google AdSense? I've heard nothing of it affecting the SERPs.

ZarathustraDK
September 17th, 2009, 07:06 PM
Dangerous stuff there...

Google practically pays the internet nowadays through ads. It's pretty much the corner-stone of web 2.0 mentality at this point (people linking to each other because they get paid ad-revenue, no money, no linkage).

An open source search engine would be nice, but that should be for some time when WiFi is so advanced that it can substitute hardlines and become a distributed net dependent on every person owning a wifi-transmitter/receiver, instead of choke-points/cable owned by the ISP's.

That'd be so awesome...or carcinogenic depending on the tech...

jonny.milano
September 17th, 2009, 07:39 PM
This looks promising! Has anyone used this?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dmoz

Viva
September 17th, 2009, 07:42 PM
Any search engine is a service and not a distributable software, so it doesn't matter to me what they use on their servers as long the results are accurate.

jonny.milano
September 17th, 2009, 07:46 PM