PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Vodafone mobile connect.

pirate paul
September 17th, 2009, 06:17 PM
Hi, after weeks I have got the Vodafone logo to come up on my screen. I am using VMC but when I need to top up my cred, I have to reinstall windows so that I can put a top up voucher number in, I do not know how much cred I have got left. Then reinstall Ubuntu, cheese and all the bits that go with it.

How do I get the voda box to come up, so I can top up with Ubuntu and not have to reinstall windows ever again. I am not too good with computers, take it easy.

Thanx.

solitaire
September 17th, 2009, 06:25 PM
The VMC is a generic 3G connection manager (although Vodafone created it they did not intend it for only their network).

I'm assuming you're in the UK??

As for top-up can't you log into the Vodafone website to register top-ups instead?

Not sure but you should get access to those pages even if you're out of credit on your 3G device?
(I'm with "three" UK and i can always access their pages even when i'm out of credit or data allowance, for top-ups).

Have you tried using "VMware"? you can install a virtual windows (you can use it without rebooting) and that should give Vodafone's Windows software access to the 3G dongle so you can top-up.

But see if you can access their "my Account" section and log in there to register a top-up.

pirate paul
September 17th, 2009, 06:44 PM
I am not sure what VMware is, I am not too good with computers but learning fast.... Please explain.

When I run out of cred the Voda site comes up, but I cannot top up because when I put in a voucher number they reply with a code to my voda sms. The voda sms is in the box that does not come up.... if it came up I would not need their website because I can just put the voucher number in and it's done ....catch 22.

Thanx.

solitaire
September 17th, 2009, 07:17 PM
VMC should show you the SMS message! I use it to send and receive SMS's all the time with my "three" 3G dongle.