PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dualboot with Vista & Ubuntu 9.04 and separate partition for files

hazypictures
September 17th, 2009, 12:45 PM
I am brand new to Ubuntu. I also have a new HPG60 Notebook PC with Pentium Dual Core T4200, 2 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 64 bit operating system, 350 GB Hard drive. (shows as 289.09 GB) It came with everything (including Vista) loaded on the D drive, which was unpacked and installed onto the C drive. So now I have three partitions:

C: NTFS, 285.98 GB - primary
D: NTFS, 12.11 GB - recovery
Unallocated 2MB

I want to partition the drive with the data on its own drive so that both OS can access. I have read how to partition for XP, but I don't have XP. http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1264327

1. Partitions: I don't have any files on the C drive right now. Should I partition that primary section so that Vista stays on 30GB, make a 30 GB Ubuntu partition, 5 GB Linux swap partition, and the rest for file storage? Or is it better to reformat the C drive into the pieces and reinstall the Vista OS from the D drive? (is this even possible?) How many partitions is too much?

2. File System: Will NTFS allow me to see the storage drive with both OS?

3. Windows OS: Are there any issues unique to Vista? When I get my Windows 7 upgrade, will I have to reformat all the partitions, or just the Vista partition? Will I need to make changes to the D (recovery) disc? (I'd like to get rid of Windows but I need to keep it for work.)

4. x86 64bit: I was going to use the 64 bit version to match my processor, but since it is my first time, I want to make sure that my hardware works OK, so I'm going with 32 bit. When the next version of Ubuntu is released, will it be easy enough for me to switch to the 64 bit version then?

Sorry for all the questions, but I just want to be sure before I start.

Thanks!

Paqman
September 17th, 2009, 01:31 PM
Welcome to the forums!