PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Need help playing flash videos in Firefox on Ubuntu

spiritofcat
September 17th, 2009, 09:23 AM
I recently bought a PC from Zazz with Ubuntu installed on it. (http://www.zazz.com.au/pastproducts.php?past=1353)
For the most part it is going very well.
Got most of the applications I need up and running, but I'm having some trouble with flash videos in Firefox.

This is my first time using Linux as my primary OS, so although I do know some stuff, I'm far from an expert.

The PC came with Firefox already installed, but when trying to watch videos on www.escapistmagazine.com (http://www.escapistmagazine.com/) I ran into some problems.

First of all it told me I was missing a plugin, so I clicked the button to find and install the appropriate plugin.
It gave me a choice of a few different ones and I chose the first in the list. It wasn't Adobe's one.

After installing the plugin, I still wasn't having much luck getting the videos to play.
I decided to try YouTube instead, and when I tried to play a video there, it asked me to install another plugin for Mpeg-4 ACC audio or something. I did that, and now YouTube sort of works, but The Escapist is still just giving me a big white space.

I tried uninstalling Firefox in the hope of re-installing it fresh and clean to try again, but the add/remove utility told me it couldn't remove it, and that I should use Synaptic Package Manager.
I found Synaptic Package Manager, and managed to uninstall firefox and all its related packages, then re-installed it with the add/remove utility, but the problem persists.

I'd be really greatful if anyone could walk me through the process of finding out what plugins I have installed, checking if they are the ones I need, and uninstalling them and putting on the right ones if they aren't.
Or even just how to completely remove firefox and all the plugins related to it and start again from scratch, this time installing the correct plugins and getting it all working.