PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to fix broken package -- linux-restricted-modules-2.6.28.15-generic

nkao
September 17th, 2009, 03:16 AM
Hi,
I am new to Linux / ubuntu and I want to install my first Linux machine. This machine already has Windows XP running and I want to add Linux to it.

I downloaded the latest 9.04 CD from Ubuntu website and burned this image file to a CD.

Then I went through the demo and then I choose an old 160G IDE hard drive to install Linux.

After installed the OS, I found broken package "linux-restriced-modules-2.6.28.15-generic" from "Synaptic Package Manager". Based on the description in "Synaptic Package Manager", I tried to install the "linux-restricted-modules-generic" meta-package with the command "sudo apt-get -f install" and the installation stopped due to an error occurred.

I am copying the output for your reference and please help to resolve this issue. Thanks.

================================================== ==
norman@norman-desktop:~$ sudo apt-get -f install
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Correcting dependencies... Done
The following extra packages will be installed:
linux-image-2.6.28-15-generic
Suggested packages:
fdutils linux-doc-2.6.28 linux-source-2.6.28
The following NEW packages will be installed:
linux-image-2.6.28-15-generic
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 219 not upgraded.
1 not fully installed or removed.
Need to get 0B/24.6MB of archives.
After this operation, 95.8MB of additional disk space will be used.
Do you want to continue [Y/n]? y
(Reading database ... 102649 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking linux-image-2.6.28-15-generic (from .../linux-image-2.6.28-15-generic_2.6.28-15.49_i386.deb) ...
Done.
dpkg: error processing /var/cache/apt/archives/linux-image-2.6.28-15-generic_2.6.28-15.49_i386.deb (--unpack):