PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to Uninstall Hardy (No dual boot)

Pablo W
September 17th, 2009, 01:40 AM
Hi,
I have tried Ubuntu and I like it very much, but I have to uninstall it from my work notebook (I will still have at home :)).
I am not operating in dual boot mode, I only have Ubuntu installed. I wonder if there is an easy way to get rid of it and install XP back.

I am a newbie.

Thanks for your help.

PS: I made a mistake in the title and cannot edit it. I am not using Hardy, but Ubuntu 9.04 Jaunty Jackalope; that is the one I need to uninstall. Thanks.

earthpigg
September 17th, 2009, 02:03 AM
I wonder if there is an easy way to get rid of it and install XP back.

i would think it'd be as simple as popping in a windows xp install cd in and reboot.

if that doesn't work...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/314458

earthpigg
September 17th, 2009, 02:06 AM
ugh, disregard that link above.

pop in an ubuntu live cd.

start gparted.

delete all partitions.

done, ubuntu is uninstalled.

Pablo W
September 18th, 2009, 09:55 PM
Thanks, earthpigg. I have installed gparted as you recommended. When I want to run it, I get message "you need root privilegies to run gparted".

Any suggestion?

Thanks!

Elfy
September 18th, 2009, 10:00 PM
start the livecd and run gparted from the system admin menu - you can't run gparted on a running ubuntu and then uninstall it ;)

you will be able to delete the linux partitions using the livecd - ater you have done that boot your XP dsic and use it to fix the boot otherwise grub will still be looking for the ubuntu install

Pablo W
September 18th, 2009, 10:22 PM
Thanks, forestpixie. I'm one step beyond now. I can run Gparted from the live CD, but when I right-click on the partitions, the option "delete" is disabled. I have never used Gparted before. Could you please guide me?

I have tried to attach a link to a print of the Gparted screen as I see it.
http://docs.google.com/View?id=dfdzc3xg_7997mb6kgd

Thanks for your help.