PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] Nvidia TNT2 64mb card driver?

spkenny
September 15th, 2009, 04:38 AM
I have dabbled in linux, specifically xubuntu for a little less than a year now. As a computer tech, I mainly deal with windows. For those customers of mine that love eye candy, I could totally sell them on linux once I learn how everything works from installing to code you have to imput. One issue that remains for me, and keeping me from experiencing beryl, is my friggin video card. I have a TNT2 Nvidia 64mb card that is working perfectly. My only issue is getting a proper driver to install. can anyone start me in the right direction on where to get the driver from and how to install it to begin with?

Whiffle
September 15th, 2009, 04:43 AM
Go to System > Administration > Hardware drivers and see if it detects it. If it does, it should offer to install the correct drivers. If not, we'll have to do a little more work.

EDIT: Oh wait you're on xubuntu...I'm not sure if you have that menu. Hmm.

spkenny
September 15th, 2009, 04:49 AM
um...ok. Not sure what happened, but it says its working fine now. Understand that I've run into the same whole thing before with setting up the driver, having it automatically download and it appears to be fine, only to pop up that message saying its still using 3rd party software and may not be fully functional blah blah blah. But that was back when I first looked into xubuntu in 08. Anyways, now onto step 2. What do I look for in the synaptic package manager for the beryl? I did this a while ago already, but forgot how to do some of this. Oh, and is 64 mb on the vid card enough to run beryl?

Whiffle
September 15th, 2009, 04:57 AM
Well, Beryl is pretty much long gone, now the word you're looking for is compiz.

If the Intel 915GMA on my laptop can do it, your TNT2 should be able to as well.

here's a blog post on compiz under xubuntu:
http://xubuntublog.wordpress.com/2007/12/09/xubuntu-compiz-pretty-pretty-xubuntu/

spkenny