PDA

View Full Version : furthering studies in computing line

MelDJ
September 14th, 2009, 02:44 PM
hi there. i am still a student but i am interested in going into the computer line. can anyone tell me what a computer scientist and a computer programmer do? where can i work if i go into either jobs? and do i have to learn programming for both jobs? if so, what language is best (i heard python is good for beginners)?
thanks in advance guys:lolflag:

Bachstelze
September 14th, 2009, 02:49 PM
A computer scientist mostly studies the theoretical side of computer science: algorithms, computability, complexity, etc.. While knowing how to actually program is not required in theory, it surely helps to know what you're talking about. ;)

A programmer... programs. ;) Depending on your actual job, you might also be involved in designing applications, and not only in programming them. Of course, knowing how to code (and to code well is important here. Python is indeed an excellent first language.

MelDJ
September 14th, 2009, 02:59 PM
A computer scientist mostly studies the theoretical side of computer science: algorithms, computability, complexity, etc.. While knowing how to actually program is not required in theory, it surely helps to know what you're talking about. ;)

A programmer... programs. ;) Depending on your actual job, you might also be involved in designing applications, and not only in programming them. Of course, knowing how to code (and to code well is important here. Python is indeed an excellent first language.

does that means a computer scientist does the R&D part of computing while a computer programmer just makes programs?
i got a head start though...just going through C++ tutorials...and making 'hello world':lolflag:
are the courses very tough? and can i use linux through the courses or is ******* a must? will my knowledge of linux be useful?