PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntuzilla script won't download

zamek
September 13th, 2009, 07:00 AM
I tried to download the Ubuntuzilla script to update Firefox 2.0 but got this error: dependency is not satisfiable: libstdc++5 . Anything I can do to resolve this? I'm running Ubuntu 7.10, Gutsy Gibbon.

nanotube
September 13th, 2009, 02:37 PM
that's strange - can you look up in synaptic libstdc packages?

nanotube
September 13th, 2009, 02:40 PM
also note that gutsy is no longer supported - no more security updates, etc.

so suggest you upgrade. :)

zamek
September 14th, 2009, 12:09 AM
the Synaptic manager says I have "The GNU Standard C++ Library v3" and the package is libstdc++6.

I'm a rank beginner with Linux Ubuntu so I just wanted to do a quick upgrade to the latest version of Firefox because it wasn't displaying a web site properly the way Internet Explorer was in Windows. It seemed like a simpler, safer and easier option than upgrading the whole operating system, which I have never done. After fruitless searches on how to do this I came upon your page for doing this but it didn't work. Hence my frustration!

nanotube
September 14th, 2009, 01:21 AM
well, libstdc++5 has been available on all ubuntu releases, including gutsy. it should be in the 'universe' repository - do you have that one enabled?

zamek
September 14th, 2009, 02:18 AM
after a search I can only find libstdc++6 not libstdc++5

nanotube
September 14th, 2009, 04:49 AM
after a search I can only find libstdc++6 not libstdc++5

do you have the universe repository enabled? libstdc++6 lives in main, libstdc++5 lives in universe.

zamek
September 16th, 2009, 03:55 AM