PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual boot problem- unable to change selection

stretcho
September 12th, 2009, 08:03 AM
Hi,

I'm a newbie to Ubuntu however have been running GoPC for quite a while. (gopc.net)

Have just installed Jaunty onto my Vista machine without any problems except for the following.

I have Vista on one drive, and Jaunty on another, so two separate drives, no partitions.

Got Ubuntu up and running, no problems, however when I want to change at startup and select windows, I am unable to make the selection, it is almost as if it is not recognising the keyboard or input.

Also, I'm unable to enter my BIOS, same thing, as if GRUB has locked me out??

Any suggestions on a fix?

Cheers

Stretcho

oboedad55
September 12th, 2009, 08:27 AM
Hi,

I'm a newbie to Ubuntu however have been running GoPC for quite a while. (gopc.net)

Have just installed Jaunty onto my Vista machine without any problems except for the following.

I have Vista on one drive, and Jaunty on another, so two separate drives, no partitions.

Got Ubuntu up and running, no problems, however when I want to change at startup and select windows, I am unable to make the selection, it is almost as if it is not recognising the keyboard or input.

Also, I'm unable to enter my BIOS, same thing, as if GRUB has locked me out??

Any suggestions on a fix?

Cheers

Stretcho

Grub doesn't affect the BIOS. You should be able to get into the BIOS before grub starts up. Usually it's the F-2 or F-12, something like that. You may have to experiment. On old desktops it's usually the "delete" key.

rob-ward
September 12th, 2009, 09:17 AM
Are you using a USB keyboard, one of my older computers that I use as a server will not register any key presses from a USB keyboard until the OS has booted, this means that I have to plug in a ps/2 keyboard to access my bios or a grub menu, you may be having the same problem.

arigoja
September 12th, 2009, 12:08 PM
yap that's right use ps2 keyboard...

stretcho