PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Synergy IP issues

redwards1987
September 12th, 2009, 04:34 AM
Hello everyone.

Somewhat new to Ubuntu, so before i begin i'm not very good with using the terminal.

My problem is with synergy. I have a vista pc running synergy as the server. Ubuntu is the client (i found this to be the easiest way around synergy getting locked out of the admin messages in vista). It works just fine. I even got it configured so that the synergy client (ubuntu) starts before i log in so i don't need a seperate keyboard on the ubuntu machine just to log in. but now my problem is that every once in a while when the vista machine loads up and i log in, the ip address changes. This doesn't happen often just once in a while. in the past 3 weeks probably like 3 times.

This wasn't really a problem before because when i'd start the client i would just start it with the new ip address in the terminal. but now that i have it autostarting before log in and after log in through the start up applications using the ip address it's a pain. everytime the ip address changes, i now have to modify the start up application and then go into my ..../Init/Default file and change the ip address in there.

I've tried to connect synergy using the computer name which everyone says works but that hasn't worked at all, it can't find it (computer name is Windows). it will only work with the ip address.

Does anyone know how i can get the ubuntu machine to connect to the server using just the computer name. i've seen people modifying the .conf file for synergy to include aliases with the ip address but that still wouldn't work because it would still change, although i suppose i would only have to modify that one file when it did. I suppose if anyone knows how to stop the ip address from changing on the vista pc that would be the better option. thanks a lot in advance for any help.