PDA

View Full Version : Easiest video editor?

HappyFeet
September 11th, 2009, 11:51 PM
I have never done video editing before, but would like to try it. Any recommendations?

spongypants23
September 11th, 2009, 11:52 PM
Kdenlive

It's similar to Windows Movie Maker, simple and easy to use.

dragos240
September 11th, 2009, 11:59 PM
Kdenlive

It's similar to Windows Movie Maker, simple and easy to use.

And it crashes 24/7 :p

doorknob60
September 12th, 2009, 12:05 AM
Pitivi, also similar to WMM, but doesn't crash. THe downside is it lacks some features that Kdenlive has, like transitions and titles, but it's still a solid editor, I've succfully created a few videos with it just fine. Do what you can to try to get the latest version though (look on their site probably).

dragos240
September 12th, 2009, 12:08 AM
Pitivi, also similar to WMM, but doesn't crash. THe downside is it lacks some features that Kdenlive has, like transitions and titles, but it's still a solid editor, I've succfully created a few videos with it just fine. Do what you can to try to get the latest version though (look on their site probably).

I wholeheartedly agree. PiTIVi is looking good!

doorknob60
September 12th, 2009, 12:15 AM
By the way, this PPA has the latest version of Pitivi in it: https://launchpad.net/~gstreamer-developers/+archive/ppa

spongypants23
September 12th, 2009, 12:16 AM
And it crashes 24/7 :p

Really? Weird! It hasn't crashed once when I use it..

orlox
September 12th, 2009, 01:06 AM
openshot looks very promising (and its stable). Though, there is no ppa fro this one (yet)

SunnyRabbiera
September 12th, 2009, 01:12 AM
Most of the linux video editors are still kinbda bleh, but there is much promise with Pitivi, Openshot and Kdenlive.

qamelian
September 12th, 2009, 01:16 AM
openshot looks very promising (and its stable). Though, there is no ppa fro this one (yet)