PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Remove Windows from dual-boot system

mclark
September 11th, 2009, 08:22 PM
Greetings,

I am completely new to Ubuntu 9.04 (and all things *nix - but I want to learn)*.

I have an old Win2000 box with a small (20Gb) drive. I created an install CD from the Ubuntu website and created a dual-boot machine (which works). The Ubuntu installation partitioned the drive into Windows and Ubuntu partitions (unfortunately I choose a really small partition size for Ubuntu - 4Gb). With the limited playing I've done with Ubuntu, I want to remove Win2K and it's partition and just use the machine as a linux box.

Since there is no data I need on this machine I would like to:

remove Win2k
recover the 16Gb partition Win2k was using and make the entire drive available to Ubuntu
I thought about uninstalling Ubuntu and removing it's partition and then reinstalling, telling it to use the Windows partition.

Or try to repartition the drive into a single partition which would, by default, remove Ubuntu, then uninstall Windows and install Ubuntu.

Before I tried any of this I thought it would be prudent to ask the experts. Any suggestions?

* I'm a Windows / OS-neutral programmer by trade so I have general computer OS knowledge but virtually no Unix/Linux/Mac experience. I would really like to turn my old Win2k box into a Linux learning tool and maybe become Windows free in the future.

creiss
September 11th, 2009, 08:45 PM
Try gparted (google for it). Its an ISO (cd) based linux that you can use to resize your partitions. This is exactly what you want to do: Move space between partitions without losing data.

-Chris.

Ellaine
September 11th, 2009, 08:59 PM
Any hard drive manufacture has a Disc Manager program available. Download any one of these and blank the entire 20GB drive. Now load Ubuntu 9.04 and use the entire drive.

louieb
September 11th, 2009, 09:18 PM
Gparted (run from a live CD) can delete the windows partition and resize the Ubuntu partition.