PDA

View Full Version : Questions in "Absolute Beginner Talk" that sort of bother you.

earthpigg
September 11th, 2009, 07:35 AM
I go there to help out, and I do help.

some problems are recurring questions about things that can be intimidating to the new user, and i understand this. I'll toss my $0.02 in and hopefully help out. "what is a LiveCD?" and "what is a partition and how do i do it?"

i understand that stuff. if you are new, it is confusing!

however,

there are certain things that i am a bit tired of seeing. i will list a few, and list why. you are welcome to add your own. this will be a little venting-fest for me and my fellow community volunteers out there.

1. poster: "such-and-such 3d whatever does not work." helper: "are you running desktop effects?" poster: "yes." earthpigg: "compiz may be fun, but it is not stable software and very often interferes with other software (games, etc). end of story. disable it or accept GUI instability. i am sorry that Ubuntu considers it stable and led you into thinking it was, but i cannot change that. here is how you can disable compiz while you are playing games or doing other stuff..."

2. poster: "i resized my vista partition using gparted, and now it is broken." earthpigg: "gparted developers have stated here (#9) (http://gparted.sourceforge.net/faq.php) and here (search for the word 'lucky') (http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/using-gparted-to-resize-your-windows-vista-partition/) that gparted is not capable of reliably resizing vista partitions, end of story. i am sorry that Ubuntu considers this feature functional and led you to believe the same, but i cannot change that. here is how you can fix vista, which Ubuntu broke..."

3. poster: "i followed this random how-to guide posted by a complete stranger and ran 5 dozen 'sudo' commands that i do not understand. how come my system is now borked?" earthpigg: "....seriously?"