PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] First timer, can't install Jaunty

maxbox51
September 10th, 2009, 05:40 AM
Hi, I'm trying to install Ubuntu 9.04 on my Pentium II 350 MHz, slot 1 with 900+ MB memory. I don't see any references to the problem I'm having (after a quick scan), so...here it is. First and foremost, Windows XP is installed on this system, and still boots fine; so the hardware is working. Secondly, I've been using Unix/Solaris/Linux since the early 1980s, but this is my first attempt at installing Linux on anything. I don't want to dual boot, I just want a Linux machine.

I downloaded a disk image, made a CD, and got it to boot to the initial menu. I can check the memory, and I can set options (but I have no idea what to set to what :). Unfortunately, the only other action that works is booting from the first disk (it boots to Windows). For checking the disc, installing, or trying Ubuntu from the CD, all that happens is the screen clears, a blinking cursor appears at the top, and...nothing happens for as long as I've been willing to wait, maybe 10 minutes at the longest.

What am I doing wrong?

PS -- I'm going out of town tomorrow, so I'll get back to replies on the weekend.

chinoy
September 10th, 2009, 06:00 AM
Please post more info about your setup.
Make / Bios / Display card etc.

You may want to do a search and see what flavour of Linux has been used on your laptop in the past.

You may have to play with and tweak your bios settings.
I suspect your video is not VGA compatible or has native VGA suport.

bhaverkamp
September 10th, 2009, 08:03 AM
I would recommend trying the live CD. It boot into linux right off the CD and gives you a clue as to what works and what doesn't.

maxbox51
September 12th, 2009, 09:20 PM
I would recommend trying the live CD. It boot into linux right off the CD and gives you a clue as to what works and what doesn't.
I thought that's what I was doing?

presence1960
September 12th, 2009, 09:33 PM