PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 8.04/9.04 won't install

CyborMonkeez
September 10th, 2009, 04:22 AM
For starters I'm a Linux noob.
When I boot from CD I get the initial install GUI screen. At first I selected the standard install method. Then many others, even changing settings. Amidst the installer loading everything to start installation, I get a CMD style screen (just black w/ text) the stops at a command prompt giving me no errors:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ _I searched "install how to's" to find nothing about getting a cmd prompt and I get the same result from doing a LiveCD and Boot From First Hard Disk installs. Tried the install with both 8.04 and 9.04 versions. MDK5 and Ubuntu check says my iso and disk are fine. Thought it might be my laptop [Sager NP9262 (Clevo D901C based)] but I did a search to find many other people have the same rig running Ubuntu 9.04 or Linux Mint 7. Even one triple booting Vista, OS X 10.5, Ubuntu 9.04. Also posted those sites hoping for an answer to this dilemma.

earthpigg
September 10th, 2009, 05:08 AM
can you give us more detail, please?

exactly which install methods did you try, what options did you choose, etc?

and, just for fun, you could try this at the command prompt:

sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop

CyborMonkeez
September 10th, 2009, 05:44 AM
Tried running the command
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo apt-get install ubuntu-desktop the result is
Reading Package list... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
ubuntu-desktop is already the newest version.
0 upgrade, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 upgraded
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ And it goes right back to the prompt.