PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Ubuntu.

timeagan
September 9th, 2009, 09:32 PM
Hey folks,

I've been looking for quite some time now (about a week) and I cannot figure out how to install Ubuntu (Eeebuntu exactly) onto my laptop. I have downloaded the .so file, extracted the files with winRAR.. but I can't figure out how to do the rest. I am a total newbie here and all the instructions I have found seem to be quite out of my league. Does anyone know where I can get really easy instructions on how to do it? It's quite frustrating that I cannot figure it out... :[

I have a Dell with Windows Vista loaded on it, an external hard drive of 40gb, and Eeepc model 900a and a lot of confusion. If someone can guide me somewhere or even through it I would be grateful.

Bottom line: I have all these machines, and I need to figure out how to put Eeebuntu onto my Eeepc with the external hardrive, thus then being able to install it on that computer.
I am also new to Linux.. and I cannot execute programs through the hard drive..

Any suggestions?

Regards, Tim

rob-ward
September 9th, 2009, 09:46 PM
The guide here http://www.liliputing.com/2008/12/how-to-install-eeebuntu-with-a-usb-flash-drive.html explains step by step how to install eeebuntu.

Hope that helps, if you run into any specific problems then just ask I am sure someone will be able to help.

overdrank
September 9th, 2009, 09:46 PM
Hi and welcome, maybe the EeePC (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/EeePC) can help. Good luck. :)

timeagan
September 9th, 2009, 09:54 PM
Hello, and thanks for the links. Starting to work on it right away.

Quick question.. if I'm loading the files from a windows OS for a linux OS should I use the unetbooking thingy for linux of windows?

Haha, I'm a failure. :D

timeagan
September 9th, 2009, 10:07 PM
Okay, followed instructions carefully and here are my results: