PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] What desktop environment should I get into?

mrcoulson
September 9th, 2009, 08:59 PM
I'm very new to Linux and have an Ubuntu server. To this point, I've done all configuration with CLI, but I feel like I need to have the ability to fall back on a GUI. I know it's not best to run a server with the GUI, but I'd really love one just for a few weeks while I'm learning my way around. Don't you ever think, "Man, if only I just had a mouse right now!"? Sometimes I do. It would be a nice comfort when repeated attempts at doing it in CLI are not working.

So, what is a good and lightweight desktop environment? I don't need a lot of extra apps -- just the ability to manipulate some configurations if needed.

And once I install one, does it still start in CLI? This is what I envision: I can start and stop the GUI as I need it like starting and stopping any other program. And once I feel like I'm ready to fly without it, I can just remove it. Reasonable expectations?

Jeremy

ATL™
September 9th, 2009, 09:57 PM
i'm pretty fond of openbox.

Locutus_of_Borg
September 9th, 2009, 10:27 PM
i'm pretty fond of openbox.

additional vote for openbox

earthpigg
September 9th, 2009, 10:51 PM
additional vote for openbox.

if you want a start-menu-equivelant that will automatically update when you install new software, and other full-blown-desktop functionality... consider LXDE.

it runs on top of openbox and is the most lightweight of what i personally would consider a 'desktop enviornment'.

once I install one, does it still start in CLI?

it does if you want it to.

when you install openbox/lxde/whatever-you-choose, make sure you use apt-get's --no-install-recommends option and read what packages it is installing. make sure none of those packages are a 'display manager'.

gdm
slim
kdm

are a few examples of display managers you want to ensure your WM/DE of choice doesn't install alongisde itself unless you want it to.