PDA

View Full Version : Installing Netbeans IDE

gabimbola
September 9th, 2009, 07:55 PM
Hi:

I have downloaded Netbeans IDE, that ended with .sh extension. I would like to install this on Ubuntu. I thought what I need to do is to chmod +x and then, the file. Thereafter, I thought I would execute thus: ./Nebeans... Please advise.

I welcome any response to my email (gabimbola@gmail.com).

Your immediate response to the above request would be greatly appreciated.

Note: I am new to Ubuntu, but not necessarily new to the *nix environment. I have been using Windows OS for a while, and I need to return to the Linux environment.

Thanks.

Gbenga

Jive Turkey
September 9th, 2009, 08:38 PM
I used the method you described and it worked for me. Make sure you have the sun-java JDK as well. The default in ubuntu is open-java (not Sun). I think that some of the netbeans installers are packaged with it.

I would also advise that you install it to a folder in your home directory (Netbeans not JDK). Both netbeans and eclipse need write permissions for thier built-in updaters/plug-in managers to work.

joshua1983
September 9th, 2009, 09:31 PM
Check if you have a JAVA_HOME var to jdk

korin43
September 11th, 2009, 11:18 PM
If you're new to Ubuntu, I'd recommend installing it from the repository:

sudo aptitude install netbeans

angryfirelord
September 19th, 2009, 04:54 AM
cd to the directory you put the netbeans file and simply execute:

sh ./netbeans-6.7.1-ml-linux.sh

m3topaz
November 6th, 2009, 01:21 PM
For Netbeans 6.7.1 in Karmic, install Netbeans from Synaptic, not from the downloadable install.
The downloadable install may well give this error (it did for me):
====================
The following packages have unmet dependencies.
sun-java6-jdk: Depends: sun-java6-bin (= 6-15-1) but 6-16-0ubuntu1.9.04 is to be installed
E: Broken packages
====================