PDA

View Full Version : Does your school allow laptops? (high school and middle school students)

gymophett
September 8th, 2009, 10:00 PM
I really wish I could bring a netbook to type my notes in class but our school won't allow it because they are a distraction, and I do somewhat agree. What about your school?

magmon
September 8th, 2009, 10:02 PM
We can bring our computers to school, but we can't use the schools wifi.

cprofitt
September 8th, 2009, 10:10 PM
(warning: I am a systems administrator for a K-12 school district) My district currently has no policy on this that I am aware of, but there may be building level policies. I know that at the district level we have discussed the possibility of 'non-district' laptops being allowed. It is something I support if the necessary 'preparation' is taken to protect internal district resources. I will be going to discuss how two area colleges handle student/faculty private computers on the network in October. My district has a 'public' wi-fi vlan and I have over 200 devices attach to it daily. Primarily these have been iPods and iPhones.

#11u-max
September 9th, 2009, 01:11 AM
i bring my ubuntu laptop to school, my algebra teacher lets me use speedcrunch since we are allowed to use calculators and i use it in social studies. it definitely helps when we are doing projects and need a way to present a slideshow/OO.o presentation!

modmadmike
September 9th, 2009, 01:20 AM
I can since its in my I.E.P and so i bring my Toshiba U305-S5077 or my Asus EeePC 901, both of which run Ubuntu 9.04 (while my desktop/server runs 9.10 Alpha). I use Speed crunch, some weird Graphing calculator that i forgot the name of, OO.o, AND SINCE I HAVE AN EVDO MODEM: firefox (My school's wifi is WEP encrypted and uses Novel Client not that i cant get in muhahahaha), I also use xmms or another player sometimes when I need to use music to block out the rest of the class because of the sound hurting my ears.

stwschool
September 9th, 2009, 02:02 AM