PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Key Values

CJWW1989
September 8th, 2009, 06:52 AM
I am new to Linux and Ubuntu and I have been trying to create keyboard shortcut commands with the usual method with keybindings and I have a question about key values. Where/how do I find them? Is it the path that I need, or what? Please point me to any information that would help. Thank you.

CJWW1989
September 8th, 2009, 05:00 PM
Can anyone please help me with this? I read something about finding the path through the which command on the shell, but obviously I have no idea what this is. If anyone knows, please post. Thank you.

Mornedhel
September 8th, 2009, 06:01 PM
You can get a keycode value (the value sent to the X server when a key is pressed) by running xev, and pressing a key while looking at the terminal. The keycode will be displayed (along with a lot more information).

The which command is used to return the full path to another command, for instance "which ls" returns "/bin/ls". You may need this if you want to create a shortcut, but usually just "ls" works.

CJWW1989
September 8th, 2009, 08:13 PM
You can get a keycode value (the value sent to the X server when a key is pressed) by running xev, and pressing a key while looking at the terminal. The keycode will be displayed (along with a lot more information).

The which command is used to return the full path to another command, for instance "which ls" returns "/bin/ls". You may need this if you want to create a shortcut, but usually just "ls" works.

Thank you for your help but I'm either not understanding this or didn't explain myself correctly. I am trying to make a shortcut, and I am asking how do I find the value to input in apps/metacity/keybinding_commands to make things open. Like I am trying to have my system monitor open with <control><alt>s. I read somewhere to use gnome-system-monitor as the value, but that doesn't work. Does this change the directions any? Thank you.

Mornedhel