PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help getting my old files from hal.dll-ed windows

peregrine1
September 7th, 2009, 05:50 PM
I would really appreciate help here.. this is the situation:

This morning couldn't run windows because of a hal.dll problem

no CD/DVD drive so installed Ubuntu 9.04 via USB - and i'm converted!

Gained access to my windows files following an online guide
ubuntu currently running from USB drive and cant seem to put it on the HDD as windows partition is hogging all the space.

My problem is that i dont know how save my needed files from windows either in ubuntu or elsewhere or change the size the partition that has my data on it in gparted. The maximum and minimum are the same so the little bar cannot be moved and the USB is all but full with Ubuntu. I'm a complete Newbie to all of this and suprised i've gotten this far.

I only want all my music and photos etc and am more than eager to see the windows wiped clean afterwards, as my computer is working like new in Ubuntu:guitar:.

So two things, how do i get the Ubuntu OS working direct from my laptop rather than the USB, and how do i get my windows files home and dry?

Many, many thanks to whoever can assist.

stlsaint
September 7th, 2009, 08:16 PM