PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] I already have Ubuntu--how do I also get Windows?

sjul
September 7th, 2009, 04:31 PM
Hi everyone--I'm looking for some guidance.

I have Ubuntu running on a Dell Inspiron (one of the ones Dell sold with out-of-the-box Ubuntu installed on them). I'm now in school, and I need to be able to use Microsoft Office for a class that's specifically about PowerPoint (ugh, I know). As well as I can figure, there are a few options:

* partition the hard drive and install Windows (although I gather that this can erase Ubuntu and require me to re-install Ubuntu?)

* install Windows on my external hard drive and use it from there

* do some kind of WINE work-around

Any ideas about which option would be the most likely to be problem-free for an absolute beginner? Are there better options I don't know about?

I know next to nothing about this stuff....I'm willing to learn, but I'd rather find out which is the most newbie-friendly option and spend my time learning how to execute that one, instead of spending a lot of time on the most complicated and risky option.

Thanks, everyone!

ChrT
September 7th, 2009, 04:32 PM
Just put windows on a VM

credobyte
September 7th, 2009, 04:34 PM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/VirtualBox

Jazzy_Jeff
September 7th, 2009, 04:35 PM
I would install VirtaualBox on your linux system and install Windows there. If you need usb support get the one from http://www.virtualbox.org/. If you don't need the usb function then you can install it from the repositories.

NoaHall
September 7th, 2009, 04:37 PM
Well, you can use open office instead of powerpoint.

But if you must use microsoft(I never have in school, I've always used open source alternatives), then use VirtulBox to install windows. I'd use the ones from the official site, and not the OSE(open source edition) because it doesn't have as many features.

pythonscript
September 7th, 2009, 04:37 PM