PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Question about installing Ubuntu (first time Linux user)

Accelerate-
September 7th, 2009, 05:10 AM
Hello Ubuntu world,

I want to make the transition to the Linux realm (like REALLY REALLY WANT to)but i'm unsure of myself to actually get up and install Ubuntu on my, suffice to say, aging pc. I received a hand me down (my sisters old inspiron 700m laptop) and my mom is going to use my old desktop.

So basically i just have 2 questions.

Is there a already made tutorial for complete beginners on installing Ubuntu, because i hear that you have to use special programs to burn the ISO image or something?

And because my old desktop is a ancient one (its specs are as followed)

Pentium III @ 750mhz
512mb ddr 233 RAM
18.6gb 5400 rpm hd (IDE)
Radeon 7500 gpu

Would installing Jaunty Jackolope (ubuntu 9.04) be a good idea rather than installing older versions?

Mainly my mom will be using this desktop just to check emails and watch news videos on say cnn.com and nothing else. I will be taking care of the technical stuff if problems arise (so be sure to see more questions from me :))

Normally i would ask my uncle about this, since he was on the developing team for networking and security when Ubuntu first came out, but he's on a business trip right now and i can't reach him, but he did tell me to go to this place if i had any questions/needed help.

Thanks in advanced!
~ Accelerate-

Ms_Angel_D
September 7th, 2009, 05:15 AM
Hi and welcome to Ubuntu :D

Tutorial: http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/index

Have a look at this page there is a link to the system requirements
https://help.ubuntu.com/9.04/installation-guide/i386/index.html

also you may want to look at this you can download the PDF version free.
http://www.ubuntupocketguide.com

Accelerate-
September 7th, 2009, 05:27 AM
Oh wow, that was fast. I guess what your links said were right, "offers extremely fast replies" hahaha :D