PDA

View Full Version : [wubi] Installing/Using Ubuntu via Wubi

Paul the Greatest
September 5th, 2009, 06:21 PM
Hello! I'll start by saying I'm a complete and utter newbie when it comes to Linux. And really, my Windows know-how isn't great either.

Basically, I have a school project to fulfill and it requires the use of a Linux based OS. I've tried Cygwin, but it seems there are compatibility issues with the program I use. And I'd expect to encounter more of the same along the way to... "IT mastery". Hence i've considered a fresh Ubuntu Install. My computer is a Dell XPS laptop (one with 2 big gfx cards in a SLI connection), which came with preinstalled Windows Vista Premium. I didn't want to mess in any way with my current OS (too noob-ish for that :D) so I've gone for the Wubi solution, which seems by far the easiest (the alternatives were Virtual Machines or stuff like that).

Well... downloaded, installed, at restart the Ubuntu partition appeared and I could/can choose to select it. The problem is... there is no GUI, it's all command line, similar to what you can see when running cmd prompt in Windows. I've tried the basic commands, they all work, but I find myself a bit stranded with only the command line at my helm. The oddity is, I have interacted with Ubuntu Systems before (and will do so again) at my school, were many labs are equiped with Ubuntu OS-ed computers! But all those have graphical interfaces. (though you can still use the terminal) .

In short, I choose the Ubuntu partition, which sends me to the Ubuntu loading screen. After a couple of seconds... the terminal like screen appears with no GUI. I can use whatever commands I like, but still... no GUI. I wonder if there is any way to get a visual interface?

I need to be able to surf the Internet from within Ubuntu which seems a big ask, considering the black screen it serves me with. I'm sure it's possible though...