PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Should I choose 32 or 64 bit Linux?

torbengb
September 5th, 2009, 02:19 PM
Hi all!
--> Should I choose 32 or 64 bit Linux?

There are 32-bit and 64-bit versions available. I want to use Linux for a Desktop PC and for a Media Center PC, and I am an utter newbie to Linux. Is there any benefit in 64-bit for me, or will I run into problems because things work better on 32-bit?

dagoth_pie
September 5th, 2009, 02:34 PM
I've never used 64bit, I've read that people run into problems with programs that don't have very good 64bit support yet (not many, Adobe Flash Player is the most notable, but that's just a useless program to begin with). Unless you want to have more than 3gb of RAM or whatever other benefits 64bit has I'd say just to go with 32bit. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong!

torbengb
September 5th, 2009, 02:37 PM
Thank you Dagoth, I was expecting an answer like this, but not this fast :-)
Since I don't have >3GB RAM and I'm just looking for something that'll work, I will stick to 32-bit.

Liolikas
September 5th, 2009, 02:39 PM
Native Ubuntu programs work well and even better on 64bit, but not Adobe things, ID games, Skype etc. like that. if you do not plan to use then go 64bit.

3rdalbum
September 5th, 2009, 02:40 PM
On Windows, things work better on 32-bit, because for years every programmer assumed that their programs were only going to be running on 32-bit x86 processors. So lots of things on Windows will only run on genuine 32-bit, or need to be run in 32-bit mode on the 64-bit operating system, because they've been written with that 32-bit assumption, and only the developer can rewrite it for 64-bit support.

On Linux, all drivers and programs are written to be portable to any of the CPU architectures that Linux supports, and there are a LOT of them. By comparison, 64-bit x86 is pretty much the same as 32-bit, and so software and drivers are merely al recompile away from being 64-bit native.