PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nothing but backlight at boot

Dlobster
September 5th, 2009, 02:52 AM
I just installed Ubunto on my dell inspiron 1100 and am having issues. It hangs on the boot up. I thought it was just from the original install, but it happened again next night.
No other OS, just ubunto 9.04 on a fresh wiped 10 gig drive.

First attempt at boot I get the text and then nothing but backlight
Hard powered down and restarted and got the password dialog. Things seemed to work fine.

Installed updates and rebooted

Couldn't get anywhere after the updates until I started in safe mode and choose an option to fix graphic problem. I was then able to resume normal boot and was able to start ok. Any ideas for a more permanant fix? Is there a different version which might be better for the machine? or am I just going to need to do a safe start every time I boot?

I am very new to Linux

Dan

QIII
September 5th, 2009, 06:29 AM
From the specs, I'd have to say that if you are using Jaunty then you are running into issues with your Intel video chipset.

Check this out: http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/releasenotes/904

Scroll down to the section that reads

Performance regressions on Intel graphics cards

If you need help understanding how to edit your xorg.conf, let us know.

These issues have been largely addressed in Karmic, which will be released next month.

If you are not comfortable modifying a critical system file then for the time being it might be worth installing 8.10 and waiting for 9.10.

Dlobster
September 6th, 2009, 12:41 AM
Thanks QII,
I like an adventure and learning new things.
I would like help understanding how to edit my xorg.con
Where do I start?
What do I need to what out for?
Dan

QIII
September 6th, 2009, 09:22 PM