PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can not install, reboots as soon as CD boots.

SkonOfVulcan
September 4th, 2009, 09:22 PM
Please be kind I'm kind of new to Linux only done 4 installs so far. I searched the forums and can not find a solution to this. I'm beginning to suspect that it is a proprietary hardware problem.

The hardware: HP Touchsmart IQ505 (all in one with 22" touch screen),
Intel Core2 Duo T5850 @ 2.16GHz, 4GB 800MHz DDR2, 500GB SATA (Hitachi)
DVD+-RW (TSST Brand?), Hard drive is partitioned 250GB for Vista Home Premium 64bit
250GB free un-partitioned to be used by Ubuntu

What happens: I can boot to a live CD and play around with Ubuntu 9.04 32bit & 64bit (same thing several months ago with 8.xx), however if I try to boot and install as soon as I choose to install the system reboots! I know the CD is good as I checked it with the included utility and also used it to install on three other systems with no problems since then. Have tried a different CD with same results. Also when I tried installing Ubuntu 8.xx a few months ago I got the same response. There are never any error messages.

I'm beginning to suspect that it has something to do with the hardware. i.e. the DVD/CD drive which is a slot loading, laptop, low profile type. Or possably because HP tie's the OS to either the hard drive or motherboard via a firmware copy of the Vista Product Key. Or some such nonsense. I've seen it before with some Dell systems. (It figures. This is the first time I DIDN'T build my own system & bought one pre-built. Won't happen again.)

So if anyone has come across this problem before and knows the answer or has any ideas or suggestions I'd appreciate any input you have!

Regards,

Skon

imhotep59
September 4th, 2009, 09:28 PM
Hello,

Maybe you can try to install with a USB key. I think you can create a bootable USB key with the liveCD. I am not sure because i am not in front of may desktop but i think it is in the system menu administration. A 1 Go key is needed.