PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] NEWBIE... How to acces PureFTP user control on a windiws base computer??

heckelman
September 3rd, 2009, 07:43 PM
Hi

Before i start to write anything i have to say that i am a complete NEWBIE with Ubuntu/linux and the kind ;-)
I use a windows XP computer. The thing i want to achieve is the following.
I have an Western Digital network harddisk (world edition) and i just inished installing PureFTP on it. Its a linux based system as i understood it. The installation wet trough a kind of "firmware update" so i didnt really do it myself.
The server is running! I can acces it from any internet connection.
The only thing is i dont know how to set the user controls....

The istallation made a map called FTPRoot on the shared folder of the HD
The only file wich i can acces and set soe kind of user control is a txt file called:

ftpUsers.txt (in the shared folder)

The file looks a bit like this:

ftp--username1:password1/share1
ftp--username2:password2/share2
ftp--username3:password3/share3

So i can set up usernaes and password and a kind of shared folder that will be made inside the FTPRoot folder.
So far so good!
The obly thing is i want to have some more controls over wo sees what, can they write, can they read only, up/download limits etc etc.
I found this programm

[B]KDE PureFTPd User Manager

wich should work on Ubuntu. I downloaded the Ubuntu disk and installed it inside windows. and now from this point i have actually no clue what to do. How to install this User Manager, and then start to control the Users for PureFTP....

I hope you can give me some help, and please remenber ;-)) Complete newbie!

Thanks a lot guys in advance!

Heckelman

:popcorn:

jonobr
September 4th, 2009, 12:10 AM
Hello

Welcome to the forums,

I wonder if you could take it back a bit and help me understanding what your trying to accomplish.

If you could outline something like the following,

- I have a machine running Ubuntu desktop/server version XXX.