PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] libc6-dev dependency problems

justamel
September 3rd, 2009, 05:14 PM
I am a total newbie on these forums, but it seems I am having similar problems trying to get an internal winmodem to work as a person who posted back in Aug,2008.

It's on a Compaq Presario 2100 notebook with Ubuntu 8.04 installed. I have determined that the modem needs a Linuxant HSFmodem driver, which I downloaded via another computer and transferred on a USB stick.

On trying to install hsfmodem driver it said it required ALSA driver (even though info. on Linuxant site seemed to indicate it was not req'd.) I downloaded appropriate ALSA driver; tried to install it and got "dependency errror - require libc6-dev".

I found this package via Synaptic and tried to install it but it required a different version of libc6!!

The version of libc6-dev which appears to be available on the system is:
libc6-dev [2.7-10 ubuntu4]
The libc6 version is: [2.7-10 ubuntu3] - this is shown as "installed"

When I searched at: http://packages.ubuntu.com I could not find "version 4" of either of these packages!!

Question 1: is there a version 4 of "libc6" and "libc6-dev"??

I downloaded libc6-dev [2.7-10 ubuntu3] and tried to install it, but got a "broken package" error message - the ALSA driver package which wouldn't install before.

Question 2: will the version 3 of libc6-dev work with libc6 version 3 and satisfy the ALSA driver requirements?

Question 3: do I have to remove the "broken" ALSA driver package and the hsfmodem driver pkg. and start over by installing libc6-dev first? If I go through the Synaptic install/remove process can I screw up other parts of the system??

Hope someone can help.

shredder12
September 3rd, 2009, 06:20 PM
By version 4 if you mean libc6-dev 2.7.10 ubuntu4 then
check this (http://packages.ubuntu.com/search?keywords=libc6-dev&searchon=names&exact=1&suite=all&section=all)

it seems you are right they don't have any.