PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help installing ubuntu on Dell 8400

slowMX5
September 3rd, 2009, 05:10 PM
I'm new to ubuntu and struggling with the install. I am installing ubuntu on a fresh HDD in my old Dell Dimension 8400. I have the 2.5GB partition size problem but being new to the file system etc I've not been able to successfully change the partition size. Ubuntu can use the whole disk as it is a new install.

Would really appreciate the help as I'm keen to dip my toe into the world of ubuntu!

stlsaint
September 3rd, 2009, 05:33 PM
see here (http://ubuntuguide.org/wiki/Ubuntu:Jaunty) for full help on jaunty.

presence1960
September 3rd, 2009, 06:02 PM
select use entire disk at the prepare disk spzce window.

slowMX5
September 3rd, 2009, 06:47 PM
Thanks for the responses - appreciated.

I've just tried selecting use entire disk at the 4th step - the 'bar' below it is all orange and reserved for ubuntu 9.04. When the setup starts to format the disk it freezes as soon as it gets to 5%. I think this is related to this problem (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1232743)but I could not follow the instructions on how to repartition the disk properly.

The ubuntu link looks very useful once I have got past this formatting/partitioning problem but I did not see nay trouble shooting there?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

presence1960
September 3rd, 2009, 07:00 PM
I'm new to ubuntu and struggling with the install. I am installing ubuntu on a fresh HDD in my old Dell Dimension 8400. I
Would really appreciate the help as I'm keen to dip my toe into the world of ubuntu!

try the alternate text based installer. get it here (http://www.ubuntu.com/getubuntu/downloadmirrors#alternate)

slowMX5
September 3rd, 2009, 07:34 PM
Thankyou - I'm downloading PC(intelx86) alternate install CD. I hope that is the right one.

Once downloaded I'll burn it and give it a go.

slowMX5
September 3rd, 2009, 09:16 PM