PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installtion problems with UNR 9.0.4

Wraith-of-Vern
September 3rd, 2009, 12:00 AM
Hey,

This is my time installing a Linux Distribution, after some time of considering it. So i am a complete novice really.

I am trying to install Ubuntu 9.0.4 Netbook Remix on my brand new Acer Aspire One 10.1" (Intel Atom N270, 1024mb RAM, 160GB HDD). I downloaded the correct version (.img) from the Ubuntu site, and used 'Win32DiskImager' as recommended to put it onto a formatted 2GB USB drive in FAT32. After this i put it in my Acer, booted from the USB drive and followed the installation as directed, i selected for Ubuntu to use all the 160GB HDD. At around 56% into installation i get a 'Errno 5'. After a few attempts i burnt it to a different USB drive, with the same problem.

I have also used the disk check feature to check both USB drives. The result is an error in 1 file in both cases.

I have also used MD5SUM to check the hash is correct on the file i downloaded, which came through fine

At this point i am very uncertain in what to do, hence my post. Any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Wraith-of-Vern
September 3rd, 2009, 12:57 AM
Does anybody have any ideas as to what the problem is?

Luca_turicci
September 3rd, 2009, 01:34 AM
Hi, first of all, you should wait a little longer to Bump your thread.

Now, boot from your USB and click in the "Check the disk for problems" option (or something like that, i run spanish version) probably the Image you downloaded is corrupted or the app you used to burn it is not working properly.

Wraith-of-Vern
September 3rd, 2009, 01:39 AM
Hi, first of all, you should wait a little longer to Bump your thread.

Now, boot from your USB and click in the "Check the disk for problems" option (or something like that, i run spanish version) probably the Image you downloaded is corrupted or the app you used to burn it is not working properly.