PDA

View Full Version : What is the big deal, anyway?

kgee
February 4th, 2006, 05:29 PM
Okay, before I go off on a small rant, I'd like to give a little background info so everyone knows where I'm coming from.

I'm no genious. I'm a seventeen year old highschool senior. I have 9 years experience with Windows, and 3 weeks experience with Linux. My computer skills' extent is occasionally confusing my computer teacher by using the command prompt to remote shutdown his computer. (He still tells the IT guy he has a virus *snicker*)

Anywho, I dont understand why there are so many people coming by these forums telling everyone how unusable ubuntu is. To get ubuntu set up for everyday use, the most nerve racking part for any windows user (imho) is the install. Even then, I looked it up online, read plenty of useful posts on these forums, Installed it about 8 different ways before learning exactly what I wanted. From there it was easy. After that (hardware compatibility permitting) I found ubuntu worked right out of the box... or disk... or whatever you happen to have it in.

In fact, since I have set up an Ubuntu/XP dual boot, I noticed that Ubuntu had found my network and put me online without me even setting it up manually. XP won't even recognise that I have a router plugged in without going through some serious troubleshooters. (which, btw, are seriously lacking in content.)

In all honesty, I must say that installing new programs is a bit of a leap from Windows, but I will adapt just like anyone with any amount of patience will.

So there's my story. 3 weeks and the only thing I use windows for is games and extra devices that dont have linux drivers (like my digital camera, or crazy high tech universal remote).

Now why am I seeing so many people who can't accomplish this in 3 months let alone 3 weeks? Maybe it is just because I love the challenge, while others can't be bothered.

fuscia
February 4th, 2006, 05:35 PM