PDA

View Full Version : NVIDIA GeForce GT240M

NertSkull
September 2nd, 2009, 03:16 AM
So I got my new laptop today (ASUS N51vn) which has been great. First thing I did was strip off vista and put on ubuntu. I'm trying to get everything optimized and I have discovered my graphics card appears to not be supported fully.

I'm still learning this stuff so anyone's input would be greatly appreciated. The "native" resolution of the screen is supposed to be 1366X768 but I can only get the display manager to get up to 1280X720.

Can I get my resolution to 1366/768?? Also I'm used to seeing an nvidia driver installed under the Hardware Drivers but nothing is listed there. I know the GT240M is relatively new, is that the problem?

Like I said, any help getting this figured out would be awesome. I love ubuntu and don't want to go to windows because of poor screen resolution I am getting right now. Thanks everyone.

dk75
September 6th, 2009, 09:53 PM
You must install newest beta driver from nVidia - only 190.32 works with new nVidia GT200M series
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=122606

XMAG
October 22nd, 2009, 05:45 PM
Are you having any other issues?? I might be buying one in december, but Ubuntu compatibility is a major concearn for me. Can you describe your experience with N51VN and Ubuntu so far??

NertSkull
November 2nd, 2009, 05:10 PM
Yeah I have had some other issues but nothing major like the video drivers. The system fan sometimes comes on full speed when booting up and won't ever go off. So I just immediately restart (before even finishing booting) a few times until it doesn't come on any more.

Other problems are super minor and probably not problems for others (i.e. I'm not a huge fan of only 768 pixel height, but I knew that before buying and this isn't my primary computer).