PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Combinging Effort

Attean
August 31st, 2009, 09:41 PM
Hey, my first post here but I signed up to start this discussion since I didn't see one similar. I've been a Windows app developer for years but mostly just dabbled in linux distros.

I saw a speech a while back from someone in the OS community talking about how they really needed to combine effort if linux was ever to gain massive adoption. I'm trying to get a handle on why the basic application libraries for KDE and Gnome aren't unified, with their direction controlled by an independent commission, with its own release dates, similar to .NET in Windows. I realize KDE offers features that GNOME doesn't, but the libraries applications on the front-end have access to really shouldn't change. That just leads to duplication of effort for developers and confusion for end users.

It seems like the lack of abstraction between projects is really lacking. If the libraries were abstracted and given independence, it would turn the KDE and Gnome packages into themes, essentially. All these independent projects make potential developers like me feel like the whole thing is a bit of a futile enterprise.

Is there any collusion between these two groups (KDE and GNOME), and if not, why?

earthpigg
August 31st, 2009, 10:15 PM
hi,

i am not a programmer, but i will toss in my $0.02 as an end user.

what put you under the impression that a KDE app will not run in GNOME, or vice versa?

I run apps for both on a regular basis, and I use neither.

If you develope a KDE app using standard KDE libs, that will not stop GNOME users from being able to run it. Pick the one you like and develope for that.

picking on or the other to develope for really only matters if you are trying to build something lightweight - something proprietary software very rarely even attempts to do. especially if it is specifically targeted at enterprise use.