PDA

View Full Version : Soooo...what to contribute if you're a newbie?

belgianmadcow
August 31st, 2009, 12:59 AM
Well,

Whenever I google a worthwile linux/ubuntu question, I end up here pretty soon. So I figured I'd join, and I hope to contribute something - I find the open source spirit very inspiring.
Since I'm a newbie on the linux front, all I can offer is general engineering advice - or materials advice to be specific. I also have some photoshop skills I'm trying to convert to the GIMP ;-). Anyone that wants to appeal to any of those can post here or drop me a note.

Maybe I'll introduce myself while I'm at it:
- I'm Bart from Belgium, I live near Bruges.
- Married, father of 2, 36 (damn!)
- Avid gamer (wish I could boot M$ for games as well, with iD stopping linux support though... :-()
- M$-hater for monopoly & privacy reasons (on edit: but NOT the people who work there, if that makes any sense)
- Ubuntu dual boot with XP, 9.04 since about a month. Sold after the 1h faultless install & been spreading the word ever since...

Shoot! but not the messenger
regards
bmc

chriskin
August 31st, 2009, 01:20 AM
Well,

Whenever I google a worthwile linux/ubuntu question, I end up here pretty soon. So I figured I'd join, and I hope to contribute something - I find the open source spirit very inspiring.
Since I'm a newbie on the linux front, all I can offer is general engineering advice - or materials advice to be specific. I also have some photoshop skills I'm trying to convert to the GIMP ;-). Anyone that wants to appeal to any of those can post here or drop me a note.

- Avid gamer (wish I could boot M$ for games as well, with iD stopping linux support though... :-()
- M$-hater for monopoly & privacy reasons
- Ubuntu dual boot with XP, 9.04 since about a month. Sold after the 1h faultless install & been spreading the word ever since...

regards
bmc