PDA

View Full Version : I have to leave the Desktop computing to Windows

irv
February 4th, 2006, 01:19 AM
I am sorry to say, I have left the Ubuntu Desktop and have gone back to WinXP for my main Desktop PC. I was working on my taxes the other day, when everything started running slow. I had no choice but to shut down the PC and restart it again. It came up again with all kinds of errors at boot up and my network quit working. I couldn't get at my printers and couldn't even set them up again. The more I tried to fix it the worst it got. I keep posting on the forum asking for help, but no one responded to my cry for help. This is why I have left the desktop computing to Windows. I am still running Ubuntu Linux on my server, but as far as the desktop goes I need support because I am not a Linux expert. I know Windows inside-out, but until I get more time working with Linux I need to keep running Windows as my main Desktop. I will either buy another PC or just duel-boot with both OS'.
I thinks there are others out there that have the same problems I am having, and until more time is spend on Linux it will not be the choice of the masses.
In closing I would like to say, I did do a new re-install of Ubuntu 5.10 and this fixed everything, but I did loose some things, but it wasn't life and death things, so I will recover in a few days. After I found it fixed everything, I un-install and went back to Windows. It was a good thing I had my checkbook backup, and I was doing my taxes on-line, so my finances are in tack.
Hopefully this is only a temporary set-back.:-({|=
Happy computing.
Irv

prizrak
February 4th, 2006, 02:34 AM
I know this would be a fairly stupid comparison, but doesn't Windows do the same thing all the time? I know I had to do random reinstalls of Windows many times.

xequence
February 4th, 2006, 03:13 AM
I wasnt going to reply, as I didnt want anyone else to, but since someone already did I might as well.