PDA

View Full Version : pthreads questions

verymagicalguy
August 29th, 2009, 12:06 AM
I'm very new to writing multithreaded code in general. I'm trying to implement multithreading in C++ using pthreads to load something from disk.

I'm wondering if there's anyway to get the return value from a thread created by pthreads_create. (Or is that not even possible since the return value must be void?)

I'm trying to prevent race conditions between threads.

Also, I'm trying to use OpenSceneGraph, is there a better way to multithread with it? I can't seem to find much about multithreading with it online.

Thanks!

napsy
August 29th, 2009, 12:34 AM
Avoid using threads, if possible. They only lead to frustrated debugging.
If you return from your thread, you will end it's executions. So what you probably want is a variable that can be accessed by a thread and another function.

verymagicalguy
August 29th, 2009, 12:37 AM
Avoid using threads, if possible. They only lead to frustrated debugging.
If you return from your thread, you will end it's executions. So what you probably want is a variable that can be accessed by a thread and another function.

Any recommendation besides pthreads then? Thanks!

napsy
August 29th, 2009, 12:47 AM
pthreads are "de facto" implementation of threads on linux. There are some other but I don't have any experience with them.

If you know what are you doing and protecting shared resources, then it should be ok to use as many threads as needed in your program.

MadCow108
August 29th, 2009, 01:04 AM
an alternative to pthreads would be openMP
openMP is incredibly easy just add a few pragmas and your code is parallised
but it's restricted to shared memory systems.

if you have a distributed memory system consider MPI

smakand
August 29th, 2009, 01:05 AM
Wait you need a return value from a thread? What is your main thread going to be doing while the other thread is loading?
What you probably need is something like this